Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Jack Kelly and Liam Turner of DUFC Men Selected for Ireland Rugby Sevens Squad

Published: January 20th, 2020

Jack Kelly and Liam Turner, of Dublin University Football Club (DUFC) have been selected in the Ireland Men’s Sevens squad ahead of next week’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series leg in Hamilton.
Kelly, a fourth-year BESS student at Trinity, has already made six appearances for the sevens team and captained the Ireland under-20 squad that participated in the 2017 Six Nations. Kelly is named alongside Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam winner and second year BESS student at Trinity, Liam Turner who previously featured in the World Rugby Men’s Sevens Series in Cape Town.
Anthony Eddy, the IRFU Director of Women’s and Sevens Rugby commented, “The Hamilton tournament is ruthless with no quarter-finals so the pool matches mean everything and can put you directly into a semi-final. The teams have prepared well and are confident of a good performance and are certainly looking for semi-final positions in Hamilton.”
The New Zealand Sevens is the third combined leg of the season, with both Ireland Men and Women drawn in Pools alongside Canada and European rivals France and Spain. The Ireland Men’s Sevens Squad open their tournament against Canada on Saturday, 25th January (11:57am local time; 10:57pm Irish time – 1), followed by a second test against Spain (5:24pm local time; 4:24am Irish time).
The action will be live on Sky Sports Action across both Saturday, January 25 and Sunday, January 26 and you can keep up to date with Ireland’s progress in Hamilton using the hashtag #IreM7s and #IreW7s and on the Irish Rugby social media channels throughout the week.

IRELAND MEN’S SQUAD (New Zealand 7s – Saturday, January 25-Saturday, January 26):
Aaron O’Sullivan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Adam Leavy (Lansdowne)
Billy Dardis (Terenure College) (captain)
Bryan Mollen (Blackrock College)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne)
Greg O’Shea (Shannon)
Harry McNulty (UCD)
Hugo Lennox (Skerries)
Jack Kelly (Dublin University)
John O’Donnell (Lansdowne)
Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers)
Liam Turner (Dublin University / Leinster)
Mark Roche (Lansdowne)
Terry Kennedy (St. Mary’s College).

Pool C:
Saturday, January 25 –
Ireland v Canada, FMG Stadium Waikato, 11.57am local time/10.57pm Irish time -1
Ireland v Spain, FMG Stadium Waikato, 5.24pm local time/4.24am Irish time

Sunday, January 26 –
Ireland v France, FMG Stadium Waikato, 11.29am local time/10.29pm Irish time -1
Play-offs and Finals, FMG Stadium Waikato, TBC.