Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Sports clubs honoured at annual awards

Published: May 2nd, 2019

The annual Trinity Sport Awards recognise outstanding sporting performances from Trinity sports clubs and athletes. The ceremony, compered by Maire Treasa (MT) Ni Cheallaigh, took place in Clontarf Castle. Special guests included Olympic rower Sinead Lynch and motivational speaker and adventurer Mark Pollock who are both Trinity Sport Ambassadors.

Reflecting on the night Maire Treasa stated that “To MC any sports awards event is a great honour, and each and every event highlights something unique about the athletes being celebrated. What struck me about the Trinity Sports Awards is that it's very obvious that the students are front and centre of all the university's athletic endeavours, no matter if they are elite athletes or involved in the administration and organisation of sport. It's also clear that Trinity really supports their athletes on and off the field, and recognise their achievements well after they graduate, as exemplified by Sinead and Mark last night. That is the importance of sport, not winning, not trophies but support and friendship.”

The highly-coveted Sports Person of the Year Award went to Ireland, Leinster and Trinity Women’s Rugby front row Linda Djougang. Unavailable to be there on the night, her award was collected by captain of the Trinity Women’s team Jane Leahy.

After working her way through the rugby ranks nobody is more deserving of the Sports Person title this year as Djougang made her Ireland debut when she came on as a replacement during the Six Nations first round defeat to England in February, and she has added further caps in subsequent games with Scotland, France and Wales.

The inaugural Game Changer of the Year Award went to Trinity Women’s Soccer captain Aine Tucker. This newly introduced award is for an individual who has gone above and beyond for their sport and club and the deserved winner on the night commented: “Being the first winner of Trinity Sport's Game Changer of the Year award is a true honour, and an unbelievable way to cap off my final week in college. While the award is in my name, the transformation of Women's Soccer over the past four years could not have been done without the support and drive of the committee, coaches, and players. I hope my work and the success of our club can be an example for the younger female and male sports leaders in Trinity and push them to have courage and confidence to lead and make a positive impact.”

The full list of winners are as follows:

  • Team of the Year – DUFC U-20’s  
  • Club of the Year – Archery Club  
  • Coach of the Year – Joe Horan  
  • Performance of the Year – DUFC First XV (Colours game)
  • Social Media Campaign of the Year – DUFC (men and women) 
  • Club Alumnae of the Year – Ciara Deevy (rifle)
  • Club Administrator of the Year – Bethany Rush (fencing) 
  • Sports Person of the Year – Linda Djougang (rugby)
  • Trinity Sport Member of the Year – William Wood
  • Game Changer of the Year – Aine Tucker
  • Volunteer of the Year – Jamie Pearson Evans (touch rugby)

In addition to the Sport Awards, a presentation of 12 University Pinks took place for the following recipients:

Ciara Gurhy (kayaking), Zelie Gallagher (netball), Sarah Higgins (ladies boat), Aoife Corcoran (ladies boat), Ross Byrne (fencing), Sam Mitchell (fencing), Jenny Long (hockey),
Colm Hogan (rugby), Sorcha McAllister (harriers and athletics), Daragh O’Connor (climbing), Rowan Osborne (rugby) and Philip Murphy (rugby)

Bank of Ireland Trinity Branch Manager Sophie O’Halloran added: “Bank of Ireland are delighted to support the 2019 Trinity Sports Awards, a fantastic celebration of the sporting endeavours of Trinity students over the last year.”

Photo: Game Changer of the Year Aine Tucker