Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Sport awards - everyone's a winner

Published: 5th April 2017

This year’s Trinity Sport Awards and Commons were a reflection of how far sport in college has come. As Head of Sport Michelle Tanner commented on the night, “The successes to be announced tonight are no coincidence and are reflective of the huge strides being made in the development of sport here at Ireland’s premier university.”

The event kicked off with a procession of the year’s trophies by the club captains, to loud whoops and cheers from the assembled Dining Hall audience of over 250. Then RTE Sport’s Evanne Ní Chuilinn opened the proceedings and got down to the business of the evening – announcing the winners.

A full list of this year’s recipients is as follows:

  • Club Administrator of the Year – Leon Breen (hurling)
  • Club of the Year – Fencing
  • Coach of the Year – Brian Scully (ladies hockey)
  • Team of the Year – Ladies hockey 1st XI
  • Social Media Campaign of the Year – Women’s rugby
  • Performance of the Year – Sailing club
  • Sports Person of the Year – Cian O’Sullivan (hurling)
  • Special Contribution to College Sport – Cyril Smyth (Pavillion Chairman)

In addition, 18 university Pinks were handed out by DUCAC Chairman Donagh McDonagh. Recipients included: Prakash Vijayanath (badminton), Cian Flynn (rowing), Philip Cripwell and Lucy Johnson (fencing), Hannah McCarthy, Aoife Leahy (rowing), Anna May Whelan, Cliona McCullough (hockey), Niamh Byrne (rugby), Eoin McCullough (orienteering), Jack Burke, Pierce Dargan, Jack McDermott, Michael Courtney, Patrick Finlay (rugby), Scott Flanigan (sailing), Donna Rodgers-Lee (sub-aqua), Ian Meeke (trampoline).

Earlier in the evening Trinity alum Ed Joyce and Bank of Ireland special guest Rob Kearney were quizzed on stage by Evanne, covering a broad range of topics from injuries, to the Women’s Rugby World Cup, to playing for Ireland and everything in between.

The ever-popular Cyril Smyth was presented with his Special Contribution to College Sport Award by Michelle Tanner, who added that Cyril had “given more than anyone could ever expect to student sport here in Trinity but also in Ireland”.

Cyril is former DUCAC Chairman and currently Chairman of the Pavilion and also our “official encyclopaedia of sporting history in Trinity”.

*Photo (L-R): Bank of Ireland’s Heather McArdle, Sports Person of the Year Cian O’Sullivan, Head of Sport Michelle Tanner