Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Sport, DUAFC host Harding Cup

Published: 9th February 2017

Trinity Sport, along with DUAFC, is hosting this year’s Harding Cup competition, which gets underway tomorrow (Friday February 10). As it turns out, it’s exactly 20 years since DUAFC last lifted the trophy in this freshers’ tournament and members of that winning team, who beat UL 3-1 at UL, held a reunion commemorating that win recently.

Speaking about the event Michelle Tanner, head of Trinity Sport, commented: “It’s great to see such an impressive calibre of talent among this year’s teams: UCD, DCU, UCC, NUIG, UL and Maynooth. Not forgetting our own DUAFC who, as the oldest football club in the country have had a long and illustrious history.

“I’ve no doubt this year’s Harding will be just as competitive as in recent times. UCD have a strong track record that they will be out to defend, however UCC, UL and Maynooth have also won the competition in the last decade. I know our Trinity freshers have been training hard under the excellent guidance of coach Jimmy Cumisky and as hosts they will be putting in extra effort to their performance.”

The Harding Cup was inaugurated in the late 1960s, when two stalwarts from the Irish university football scene, Dr Tony O’Neill and Albert W Harding, recognised the importance of providing a pathway into intervarsities for first year students.

DUAFC has the distinction of being the oldest active football club in existence in Ireland. The club played the first official football match in Ireland in November 1883.

Harding Cup 2017 fixtures
Friday Feb 10
Maynooth University A v UCC, Santry Avenue (2pm); DCU v Trinity, College Park (2pm); UCD v Maynooth B, Santry Avenue (2pm); UL v NUIG, Santry Avenue (4pm)

Saturday Feb 11
Harding Cup semi-finals: Santry Avenue (2pm)
Harding Plate semi-finals: Santry Avenue (11am)

Sunday Feb 12
Harding Cup final: College Park (2pm)
Harding Plate final: College Park (11am)

**Photo caption: (back row L-R) Kevin Flavin, Manus Hanratty, Jan Ernst, Stephen Murphy, Kevin Flynn, Ansgar Fröhlich, Niall O’Connor, Christoph Altmeppen, Noel Clarke, Bernard Doyle (Manager); (front row L-R) Daragh McGinley, Paul Sharpe, Paul Hunt, Gavin Callan, Damien Ryan, Joe Creedon, David Morrissey. Missing: Dermot Diver