Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Sport Awards - shortlist announced

Published: May 17th, 2018

The shortlist for this year’s Trinity Sport Awards has just been announced (see below). The annual event, celebrating performances, achievements and volunteers, takes place next Tuesday, May 22nd, in Clontarf Castle, the first time the event has been held off campus.

RTE sports presenter and reporter Evanne Ní Chuilinn will MC once again, and the night will also feature some special guests.
A number of new awards have been added for this year’s event, including Alum of the Year and Volunteer of the Year.

Team of the Year
DUAFC Freshers
Boat Club Senior 8

Club of the Year
Ladies Boat Club
Men’s Golf

Sports Person of the Year
Caoimhe Dempsey (Ladies Boat)
Fionn O’Riain Broin (Hurling)
Michael Silvester (Rugby)
James Woods (DUAFC)

Coach of the Year
Iain Morrison (DUHAC)
Shane O’Brien (Hurling)
Dr Colm Flynn (Fencing)
Tony Smeeth (Rugby)

Performance of the Year
Siobhan Scarlett (Rifle)
Intervarsity Team (Fencing)
DUFC (Rugby)

Social Media Campaign of the Year
DUFC Women (Sarah Clarke)
Trinity Hurling
DU Ladies Boat

Alum of the Year
Linda Caulfield (Hockey)
Eoin Kearney (Sub-Aqua)
Eoin O’Leary (Hurling)
Laura Brennan (DUHAC)

Club Administrator of the Year
Sorcha O’Carolan Murphy (Ladies Cricket)
Aoife O’Connor (Hockey)
Leon Breen (Hurling)

Volunteer of the Year
Rowan Austin
Dhruv Sachdev
Mar Aguilar Lopez
Rahul Kumar

You can keep track of the winners on the night by following our social channels and the hashtag #tcdsa18.

Student tickets are available to buy for a subsidised price here. The password for student tickets can be obtained from club captains. Tickets can also be purchased by non-students via this link here.

Photo: representatives from some of the student sports clubs at last year's awards