Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

The University of Dublin

Trinity College

Minutes of Board Meeting, Trinity Monday, 13 May 2002

Present Provost (Dr J Hegarty), Vice-Provost (Dr J B Grimson), Registrar (Mr R A Stalley),

Bursar (Dr J W O'Hagan), Senior Lecturer (Dr S M Greene), Mr B Connolly, Dr L E Doyle, Dr S Duffy, Dr J A Fitzpatrick, Dr H Gibbons, Dr J G Lunney, Mr D Memery,

Mrs J O'Hara, Dr J C Sexton, Dr F Shevlin, Ms E K Stokes.

Apologies Dr S P A Allwright, Ms E Drew, Dr C Horn, Mr H Kearns, Ms M Leahy, Dr J M

Mossman, Ms E Nic an Bhaird, Dr A N M Ní Chasaide, Ms A Power, Dr D L Weaire,

Dr T T West.

In attendance

(ex officio) Secretary.

Those present made the statutory declaration.

10/243 Election to Fellowship

(a) **Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 6** The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 6:

Nigel Hugh Buttimore Jeffrey Leo Kallen Brian Robert Singleton Vincent Patrick Wade Simon Paul Wilson Carl Vogel Nicholas Paul Daly Graeme William Watson Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

(b) **Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 7** The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 7:

Ian Hamilton Robertson Brian O'Connell Damien Patrick Nelis Seamus Joseph Martin

10/244 Election to Scholarship The Board elected the following:

(a) Foundation Scholarship

Natural Sciences Siobhán Marie Hughes History and Political Science Irene Anne O'Daly Economic and Social Studies Matthew Benedick Robert Neuberger English Studies Katherine Marie Packwood Law Daithí Mac Síthigh; Desmond Ryan
Medicine Leona Adrienne Doyle; Mairéad Mary Bartley
Engineering Rory Madden; Even Sorgjerd
Two-subject Moderatorship Shane Collins
Mathematics Damien Mark Hughes
B.Sc. (Business and Information Technology) Viktoria Helga June Eherer

(b) Non-Foundation Scholarship

Psychology Christiane O Mahony; Emily Mary Casey; Rebecca Quin Natural Sciences Una Farrell; Emma Caroline Siddall; Lughaidh Ó Néill Pharmacy Ciara McManamly

Physiotherapy Nicola Thompson; Laura Caroline Montgomery; Jean Lambert Orr Management Science and Information Systems Studies Aidan Clarke; Aidan Corcoran Computer Science Darragh Curran; Edsko Jacob Jelle De Vries; Gordon Syme Drama and Theatre Studies Lisa Jane Mahony

Clinical Speech and Language Studies Sinead Kellaghan

Economic and Social Studies Cathal Joseph George Fitzgerald; Aoife McDermott; Barry John Rafferty

English Studies Tamara Jane Atkin

Law Nathan Reilly; Raymond John Ryan

European Studies Mánus de Barra

B.Ed. (Music Education) Claire Marie Conneely

Computer Science, Linguistics and a Language Daniel Kelleher; Paul Gerard Laird Medicine Roseita Carroll; Danielle Collins; Róisín English; Michele Geraldine Open; Joanne Elizabeth Agnew; Susan Claire Byrne; Louisa Glackin; Sum Leong Dental Science Sheila Galvin

Engineering Alan Peter Fitzsimons; Joseph Francis Sweeney

Two-subject Moderatorship Rowena Elizabeth Gray; Peter Keating; Abie Philbin Bowman

Mathematics Joseph Stanislaus Gubbins; David Jarlath Patrick Henry

Theoretical Physics William Lee; Pádraig Looney

Law and French David Fennelly

B.Sc. (Business and Information Technology) Hugh Gallagher; Grainne O Brien Information and Communications Technology Deirdre Lee Computational Physics/Computational Chemistry Isabel Mary Unwin Medicinal Chemistry Gary James Ryan

10/245 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship The following prizes were awarded:

St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize Mathematics: Damien Mark Hughes Marshall Porter Memorial Prize(Divisions 1 and II) No recommendation received. John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize No recommendation received.

Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship Medicine: Colleen Bernadette Heffernan Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize Mathematics: Tim Downing; Theoretical Physics: Arthur Prendergast; Natural Sciences: John Denis Tumpane.

Michael Roberts Prize Mathematics: Paul David McNicholas

John Henry Bernard Prize in Philosophy Mental and Moral Science: Scott O'Connor

Cotter Prize in Modern Languages Two-subject Moderatorship: Lucy Claire Manuela Jessel.

Signed:	
Date:	