Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



You are here TR060 Biological and Biomedical Science > Junior Sophister

Untitled Document

TR060 Junior Sophister Moderatorship Fair 2022/23

Having successfully completed the Freshman years, of the BBS programme, you must now decide on the discipline in which you wish to specialise for your moderatorship. For some of you this will be an easy decision, as you have known from entry the subject you wish to study. For others the choice may be more difficult. However, it is important for all of you to be open-minded and reflect carefully on the broad range of topics presented in the Freshman biology modules.

My strong advice to you is - follow your interests! You will excel in the areas of biology in which you are most interested. Ultimately there are no barriers to careers after one’s honours degree in biology and, as biologists, we move between subjects and areas all the time.

Please read the booklet very carefully before making your moderatorship choices.

Please watch Prof Aine Kelly's video Junior Sophister Options and Prof Andrew Jackson Course Director video Choosing your Moderatorhsip Discipline. You can learn more about each of the moderatorships by viewing their video.

MODERATORSHIP FAIR VIDEOS

 

You can also contact the Junior Sophister Course Advisors listed below:

Course Advisors (JS)

Biochemistry

Prof D. Nolan

denolan@tcd.ie

Botany

Prof M. Williams

willimsm@tcd.ie

Environmental Sciences

Prof M. Saunders

saundem@tcd.ie

Genetics

Prof J.P. Labrador

labradoj@tcd.ie

Human Genetics

Prof J.P. Labrador

labradoj@tcd.ie

Immunology

Prof F. Sheedy

fsheedy@tcd.ie

Microbiology

Prof U. Bond

ubond@tcd.ie

Molecular Medicine

Prof K. Mok

mok1@tcd.ie

Neuroscience

Prof E. Jimenez-Mateos

jimeneze@tcd.ie

Physiology

Prof M. Caldwell

caldwellm@tcd.ie

Zoology

Prof N O’Connor

oconnn18@tcd.ie