Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search



You are here Research > Research Groups > Chemical Physics of Low-Dimensional Nanostructures > Group Members

Group Members

Principal Investigator

Head of Group E-mail Phone no.
Prof. Jonathan Coleman colemaj@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 3859

Postdoctorate Research Fellows

Postdoctorate Research Fellows E-mail Phone no.
Dr. Conor Boland bolandc1@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Sebastian Barwich barwicst@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Sajad Esmaeily esmaeila@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Andrew Harvey harveya2@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
David McAteer mcateerd@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Ruiyuan Tian rtian@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Victor Vega vegamayv@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039

Postgraduate Students

Postgraduate Students E-mail Phone no.
Domhnall O'Suilleabhain osuilld@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Yashaswi Nalawade nalawady@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Aideen Griffin aigriffi@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Daniel O’Driscoll daodrisc@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Cian Gabbett gabbettc@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
John Boland bolandjb@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Sonia Biccai sbiccai@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Beata Szydłowska (co-supervised with Prof. Werner Blau) szydlowb@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Ivan Caffery caffreit@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Adam Kelly kellya35@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039

Recent Graduates

Name Thesis Title
Peter Lynch Nanostructured Electrochemically Active Electrodes for Applications in Energy Generation and Storage Devices
Sebastian Barwich A Study of Liquid Phase Exfoliation and Properties of 2D Nanomaterials
Damien Hanlon Liquid Phase Exfoliation of Novel 2D Nanomaterials
Conor Boland Multifaceted Sensors Based on Conductive Nanocomposites
Tom Higgins Electrochemical Energy Storage Properties of Solution-Processed Nanomaterial Networks
Graeme Cunningham Solution Processed Group VI Transition Metal Dichalcogenides A Study on Conductive Hybrids and Photoconductivity for Future Applications in Printed Electronics
Rónán Smith Liquid Phase Exfoliation and Dispersion of Two Dimensional Materials
Peter May Nanoscale Effects Governing Machanical Reinforcement in Composite Materials
Sophie Sorel

Study of the Properties of Networks of Low-Dimensional Nanomaterials for Transparent Flexible Device Applications

Paul King Percolation effects in nanostructrured thin films
Marguerite Hughes

Factors Controlling the Dispersion of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes and Hexabenzocoronene in Liquid Media

Mustafa Lotya Exfoliation and Dispersion of Layered Materials Through Liquid Phase Processing
Karen Young

Preparation and Characterisation of Carbon Nanotube Composites

David Rickard

Photoluminescence studies of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes

Phil Lyons

Flexible thin films for electronic applications

Umar Khan

Mechanical and morphological properties of polymer-nanotube composites

Yenny Hernandez

High yield exfoliation of graphene

Ian O’Connor

Post production treatment of commercial fibers

Fiona Blighe

Preparation and characterisation of carbon nanotube films and composites

Helen Cathcart

Understanding DNA dispersed single-walled carbon nanotube systems

Shane Bergin

Dispersions and Solutions of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes

David Blond

Mechanical properties of biopolymers reinforced with carbon nanotubes

Denis Mc Carthy

Inorganic nanowire based composites

Recent Group Members

Name Contact
Dr. Zheng Ling lingz@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Ian Godwin godwini@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Damien Hanlon hanlonda@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Zheng Ling
Dr. Ian Godwin
Dr. Claudia Backes backes@uni-heidelberg.de
Dr. Zahra Gholamvand gholamvz@tcd.ie 00 353 (1) 896 3165
Dr. Xiaoyun He xihe@tcd.ie
Dr. Eswaraiah Varrla varrlae@tcd.ie
Dr. Shabo Xie shaoboxie@gmail.com
Dr Oana Istrate istrateo@tcd.ie
Dr Rónán Smith smithro@tcd.ie
Dr Peter May mayp@tcd.ie
Dr Sophie Sorel sorels@tcd.ie
Dr Paul King kingpj@tcd.ie
Dr Mustafa Lotya lotyam@tcd.ie
Dr Phil Lyons lyonspe@tcd.ie
Dr Marguerite Hughes jmhughes@tcd.ie
Dr Sukanta De desu@tcd.ie
Dr. Karen Young kyoung@tcd.ie
Dr. Fiona Blighe fblighe@tcd.ie
Dr. David Rickard rickard@tcd.ie
Dr. Toby Sainsbury toby.sainsbury@gmail.com
Dr Damien Aherne  
William Morton mortond@tcd.ie
Dr Shane Bergin  
Dr Helen Cathcart  
Dr Yenny Hernandez  
Dr Zhenyu Sun  
Dr Valeria Nicolosi