Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Undergraduate > Current Students > Awards


medalThere are a number of academic prizes for which Philosophy students can compete.

John Isaac Beare Prize in Philosophy

This prize was founded in 1953 by a bequest from E.P. Cotter in memory of John Isaac Beare, Fellow 1887-1918. It is divided into three parts, and one part is awarded in each of the first three years of the honours course in philosophy. Part I is awarded at the end of Trinity Term in each year to the Junior Freshman student who has submitted the best essays during the academic year. Similar regulations apply to Parts II and III in the Senior Freshman and Junior Sophister years respectively. The prize winners may select books to the value of €89 at the University booksellers.

John Henry Bernard Prizes

(JF and SF exam prize; SF foundation scholarship exam prize)
These prizes were founded in 1929 by a subscription in memory of John Henry Bernard, Provost 1919-1927. A prize is awarded annually in the Junior Freshman year and in the Junior Sophister year on the basis of the results of the honours examinations in philosophy; in the Senior Freshman year the prize is awarded to the candidate who performs best in the Foundation Scholarship exam. The prize is open to candidates in (a) philosophy only, or (b) philosophy as part of a combined honours programme. In the case of (b), only the candidate's performance in philosophy is taken into account. The value of each prize is €108.

Madeleine Farrell Memorial Prize in Philosophy of Mind

(SS Philosophy of Mind Dissertation Prize)
A prize of €250 has been provided by a benefactor and former student of Philosophy and Medicine at Trinity College Dublin, Dr. Thomas Farrell in honour of his mother, Madeleine Farrell. The prize will be awarded each year to the student who achieves the highest mark for a Senior Sophister thesis in Philosophy of Mind.

Arthur Aston Luce Memorial Prize

This prize was founded in 1977 from a general bequest to the College by Arthur Aston Luce, Fellow 1912-1977, Professor of Moral Philosophy 1934-1947, Berkeley Professor of Metaphysics 1947-1977. It is awarded annually to the student who obtains the highest mark in the Problems of Philosophy paper at Part II (Senior Sophister) of the moderatorship examination. The prize is valued at €166.

Lilian Mary Luce Memorial Prize

(Freshman years - prize for special examination on Berkeley)
This prize was founded in 1941 by a gift from the Rev. Arthur Aston Luce, in memory of his wife, Lilian Mary Luce, gold medalist in Mental and Moral Science. It is awarded on the basis of the result of a written examination held annually at the beginning of Trinity Term conducted by two examiners appointed from the honours examiners in philosophy. The course consists, in the main, of portions of Berkeley's philosophical works, preferably those not specified in the honours course. Works about Berkeley may also be included. The course, which may be varied from year to year, is prescribed by the Head of the Department of Philosophy. The examination is open only to students enrolled in the Single Honours course in Philosophy or taking Philosophy as part of a Two Subject Moderatorship. It may be taken in either the Junior Freshman or Senior Freshman year, but no student may be a candidate on more than one occasion. Notice of intention to compete must be sent to the Senior Lecturer by 15 February. In the case of a close tie the board may divide the prize, on the recommendation of the examiners. The value of the prize is €381.

Henry Stewart Macran Prize

(Any year - prize for special Hegel exam and essay)
This prize was founded in 1941 by a bequest from Miss Eileen Frances Gertrude McCutchan in memory of Henry Stewart Macran, Fellow 1892-1937. It is awarded annually to the candidate who gains the best aggregate of marks at a written examination on Hegel's system of philosophy and for an essay 'on a subject of metaphysical or ethical and not merely psychological or logical character'.

Candidates must be under M.A. standing, and if undergraduates must have their names on the College books. No candidate may win the prize more than once, but an unsuccessful candidate may compete again.

The examination is held in Trinity Term. The course consists of (1) a prescribed portion of Hegel's works (100 marks) and (2) a critical or expository work on Hegel (100 marks). Notice of intention of compete must be given to the Senior Lecturer at the beginning of Hilary Term.

The subject of the essay (200 marks) is one of a number of topics prescribed annually by the Professor of Philosophy and two other examiners appointed by the Board, or else a topic proposed by the candidate at least three weeks before the end of Hilary Term and approved by the examiners. It must be 8,000-9,000 words in length. It must be handed to the Head of Department on the morning of the first day of the examination, and must be signed by the candidate and accompanied by a list of authorities consulted, and by a statement that the essay is the candidate's own work. This prize is valued at €318.

Wray Prize

(SS dissertation prize)
This prize was founded in 1848 by a gift from Mrs. Catherine Wray, widow of Henry Wray, Fellow 1800-1847, to encourage metaphysical studies. This prize is awarded annually to the student who submits the best thesis at the moderatorship exam in philosophy. The value of this prize is €445.

Wray Travelling Scholarship

(SS exam prize)
This prize was founded in 1977 out of funds accumulated through the gift from Mrs. Catherine Wray described above. The purpose of this prize is to enable a student to spend time abroad visiting or studying at some centre of philosophical learning (to be chosen in consultation with the Head of the Department of Philosophy); and it is awarded to a student who achieves a very high standard at the moderatorship examination. To qualify, a student must submit evidence of having been admitted to an overseas university to study on an approved postgraduate course in philosophy. The prize will not necessarily be awarded annually. This prize is valued at €3,175.