Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



12–18 June 2022

Trinity College Dublin
University College Dublin

Registration now open

“Deshil Holles Eamus.” The delivery took place a hundred years ago, some 780 kilometers from Dublin. At 7 o’clock on the morning of February 2 1922, Sylvia Beach, playing publishing midwife to the last, stood at the head of a platform at the Gare de Lyon in Paris, ready to be handed by the conductor of the Dijon express train the first two copies of Ulysses with which Maurice Darantiere had entrusted him. It took her only a few minutes to jump into a taxi, deliver one copy to Joyce’s address, and rush to her bookstore, now bookstore-cum-publishing-house, to display the other copy in her window. All day long, people came to see the myth now made book. Now, after a hundred years of Ulysses, the book has turned back into a myth, and it has kept the professors busy for a full century.

On the occasion of the hundredth anniversary of the publication of Ulysses, Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin will host the 28th International James Joyce Symposium, and invite Joyceans to return once again to the city he situated so durably and resoundingly on the literary map.

The keynote academic speakers are Katherine O'Callaghan and Anne Marie D’Arcy.
The invited writers are Mark O'Connell and Eimear McBride.

International James Joyce Foundation Scholarships

The International James Joyce Foundation and the Symposium organisers are sponsoring a number of scholarships for graduate students and early career researchers to attend the Symposium. Each scholarship is for €1000. Applicants should send a copy of the paper abstract, a cv, and a letter of recommendation. Applications should be sent by electronic attachment.  Recommendations should be sent separately as email attachments with the applicant’s name listed clearly in the subject line. Email to The committee members are William S. Brockman, Catherine Flynn, Ronan Crowley. Deadline: 1 May.


Host Committee: Sam Slote (TCD), Tom Walker (TCD), Luca Crispi (UCD), Anne Fogarty (UCD)
Academic Committee: Valérie Bénéjam (Université de Nantes), Tim Conley (Brock University)