Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search


Moya Cannon has published five collections of poetry, the most recent being Keats Lives (Carcanet). She has been invited to read in Ireland, Europe, in the Americas, North and South, in Japan and India. Bilingual selections of her work have been published in Spanish, Portuguese and German. She has been honoured with the Brendan Behan Award and the O’Shaughnessy Award, and she was Heimbold Professor of Irish Studies at Villanova University in 2011.  She has also been editor of Poetry Ireland Review and is a member of Aosdána.

Leontia Flynn has published four collections of poetry with Jonathan Cape.  Her most recent, The Radio(2017), wasshortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and won the Irish Times Poetry Prize. She won the AWB Vincent Literary Award in 2014.

Hugo Hamilton is the author of the best-selling memoir, The Speckled People, the story of his German-Irish childhood in Dublin, prohibited by his revolutionary father from speaking English. He has written nine novels, two memoirs, a collection of short stories and three stage-plays. His work has won international awards, including the French Prix Femina Etranger, the Italian premio Giuseppe Berto and a DAAD scholarship in Berlin. Hamilton is a member of Aosdána and lives in Dublin. His new novel Dublin Palms will be published later this year. 

Biddy Jenkinson: Her two latest collections (published by Coiscéim) are Táinrith, a long poem based on the Táin, and Sceilg na Scál, begun on Skellig. She is working on her third collection of detective stories featuring the lexicographer, Fr Pádraig Ó Duinnín.

Caitriona Lally's debut novel, Eggshells, was shortlisted for the Newcomer Award at the 2015 Bord Gais Irish Book Awards and the Kate O'Brien Debut Novel Award the following year. Lally is the recipient of the 2018 Rooney Prize for Irish Literature. She was the featured writer at Starboard Home, a celebration of Dublin Port in the National Concert Hall in 2016. Her work has appeared in The Lonely CrowdThe Irish Times, and the Irish Examiner, among other publications. She is still trying to finish her second novel.

Caitríona Ní Chléirchín is an Irish-language poet, critic and lecturer originally from Gortmoney, Emyvale in Co. Monaghan. Her début collection Crithloinnir won the Oireachtas Prize for New Writers in 2010 and her second collection An Bhrídeach Sí published in 2014 won the Michael Hartnett Prize 2015. Her second collection is dedicated to her mother, who passed away last year. She has published poetry in Comhar, Irish Pages, Cyphers, The Stinging Fly, Feasta, Blaiseadh Pinn, The SHOp, An t-Ultach and An Guth. She also writes reviews, academic and journalistic articles and has published over 20 reviews in The Irish Times, Comhar, and Taighde agus Teagasc and others. Mícheál Ó Ruairc has described her as the new love lyricist writing Irish poetry today in Comhar, December 2010. Liam Carson compared her work to that of the famous Russian poet Marina Tsvetaeva in his review of her first collection in Poetry Ireland Review 104, 2011.

Ailbhe Ní Ghearbhuigh was born in Kerry. She has read at festivals in New York, Paris, Montréal, Berlin and Ballyferriter. Coiscéim published Péacadh (2008) and Tost agus Allagar (2016). A bilingual collection, The Coast Road, published by Gallery Press in late 2016, includes English translations by thirteen poets.

Kevin Power is Assistant Professor of Literary Practice in the School of English, TCD. He is the author of Bad Day in Blackrock (2008), filmed in 2012 as What Richard Did. In 2009 he won the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature. He writes for various places, including The Sunday Business Post, Literary Review, The Dublin Review, Los Angeles Review of Books, The Dublin Review of Books, and The Millions. His new novel, The Confessions, will be published by Simon & Schuster UK in early 2020. 

Home page