Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

Skip Navigation
Who We Are
Professor Denis O'Brien

Position: Honorary President

 

 

The Board of the Plato Centre meets regularly, and at least twice a term, to deliberate about and, as a single entity, decide on the daily running and general management of the Centre.

Professor John Dillon

Position: Director Emeritus

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Classics

Email: dillonj@tcd.ie

Professor Vasilis Politis

Position: Director (2005-2016)

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Email: vpolitis@tcd.ie

Dr. David Horan

Position: Board Member

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Email: davidphoran@gmail.com

Dr. Peter Larsen

Position: Webmaster

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Email: larsenp@tcd.ie

 

 

Professor Andrew Smith

Institutional Affiliation: University College Dublin – School of Classics

Email: andrew.smith@ucd.ie

Dr. Tim Crowley

Institutional Affiliation: University College Dublin – School of Philosophy

Email: tim.crowley@ucd.ie

Dr. William Desmond

Institutional Affiliation: NUI Maynooth – Department of Ancient Classics

Email: william.desmond@nuim.ie

Professor Dermot Moran

Institutional Affiliation: University College Dublin – School of Philosophy

Email: dermot.moran@ucd.ie

Professor Fran O'Rourke

Institutional Affiliation: University College Dublin – School of Philosophy

Email: fran.orourke@ucd.ie

Dr. Patrick Quinn

Institutional Affiliation: All Hallows College – Department of Philosophy

Email: pquinn@allhallows.ie

Professor John Cleary †

 

 

Dr. Christopher Buckels

Position: Lecturer

Institutional Affiliation: University of California at Davis – Department of Philosophy

Email: cbuckels@ucdavis.edu

Dr. Damian Caluori

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity University, Texas – Department of Philosophy

Email: dcaluori@trinity.edu

Dr. Eleni Kaklamanou

Institutional Affiliation: University of Cyprus – Department of Philosophy

Email: kaklamae@tcd.ie

Professor George Karamanolis

Institutional Affiliation: University of Vienna – Department of Philosophy

Email: gkaramanolis@univie.ac.at

Professor Richard King

Institutional Affiliation: Universität Bern – Institut für Philosophie

Email: richard.king@philo.unibe.ch

Professor André Laks

Institutional Affiliation: Paris–Sorbonne (emeritus) & l'Universidad Panamericana, Mexico

Email: laks.andre@gmail.com

Dr. David Lee

Institutional Affiliation: St. John's College, Oxford

Email: david.lee@sjc.ox.ac.uk

Dr. Brendan O'Byrne

Email: obyrnebr@tcd.ie

Professor Catherine Rowett

Institutional Affiliation: University of East Anglia – Department of Philosophy

Email: c.osborne@uea.ac.uk

Professor Dominic Scott

Institutional Affiliation: University of Kent – Department of Philosophy

Email: d.j.scott@kent.ac.uk

 

 

Dr. Manfred Weltecke

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Email: mwelteck@tcd.ie

 

 

Name: Nilufer Akcay

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Classics

Project Title: 'Porphyry's On the Cave of the Nymphs in its Intellectual Context'

Supervisor: Dr. Martine Cuypers

Research Award: Trinity College Postgraduate Research Studentship (2013–2015)

Email: akcayn@tcd.ie

Name: Olaf Almqvist

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Classics

Project Title: 'Becoming Gods: Life, Death and Divinity on the Borders of Greek Religion'

Supervisor: Dr. Ashley Clements

Research Award: IRC Postgraduate Scholarship (2013–2017)

Email: almqviso@tcd.ie

Name: Keith Begley

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Project Title: 'Duality and Opposition in Heraclitus, philosophy of language and psychology'

Supervisor: Professor Vasilis Politis

Email: begleyk@tcd.ie

Name: Pauline Sabrier

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Project Title: 'The Role of kinêsis and Stasis in Plato's Sophist: an inquiry into the two forgotten megista genê of the Sophist'

Supervisor: Professor Vasilis Politis

Research Award: DAAD fellowship to the Munich School for Ancient Philosophy (MUSAΦ) (2014–2015)

Email: sabrierp@tcd.ie

Name: Colm Shanahan

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Project Title: 'Alkibiades, Akrasia and the Fetish for Falsity'

Supervisor: Professor Vasilis Politis

Email: colmjj@gmail.com

Name: Jun Su

Institutional Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin – Department of Philosophy

Project Title: 'A Study of Aristotle's Metaphysics Θ'

Supervisor: Professor Vasilis Politis

Research Award: IRC Postgraduate Scholarship (2014–2017)

Email: jusu@tcd.ie


Last Updated: February 09 2017 12:18:16.