Trinity College Announces New Fellows and Scholars

11 April 2016

Trinity  today celebrated the beginning of the annual Trinity Week with the announcement of 50 new Scholars, 14 new Fellows, 10 new Professorial Fellows, and two Honorary Fellows. The ceremony is one of the oldest and most colourful at Trinity College and marks the beginning of the annual Trinity Week, a long established celebration of College life.

The announcement was made by the Provost of Trinity, Dr Patrick Prendergast, surrounded by members of the Board of the College in full academic gowns on the steps of the Public Theatre.  Students and staff celebrated the occasion with colleagues, friends and families in Front Square.

Scholars are students who have demonstrated exceptional knowledge and understanding of their subjects and are elected annually in various subjects as the result of an examination held in the week before the start of Hilary term.

New scholar Aine Kennedy (Science)

Research achievement or scholarship of a high order is the primary qualification for Fellowship, along with evidence of the candidate’s contribution to the academic life of the College and effective record of teaching.  Fourteen new Fellows were elected from a range of disciplines. Additionally, ten professors of the University were elected to Fellowship, these are professors whose names are put forward for election to Fellowship following their appointment as Professor.

Honorary Fellowships were also awarded to Professor William C. Campbell, a Trinity graduate and Nobel Prize winner in medicine this year. Professor Louise Richardson also a graduate, and newly appointed Vice- Chancellor of the University of Oxford, was also awarded one.

This year to celebrate Trinity Week, the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences has put together a week of exciting events including a series of talks and activities around the theme, Memory.  Trinity Week will run from April 11-15th April,   events are free and open to the public. A full programme of events can be found on

Another delighted scholar, Samuel Browne (History & Political Science)


A jubilant new scholar, Sarah Fitzpatrick (Pharmacy)

For full details of the Fellows 


Media Contact

Caoimhe Ni Lochlainn, College Press Officer | | +353 1 896 2310 / +353 87 995 8014 (out of office hours)

Most Read