Teaching Awards Recognise PhD Students Commitment to Teaching and Learning

29 May 2015

The Dermot McAleese Teaching Awards were presented to teaching assistants in the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy recently in recognition of their outstanding commitment to achieving excellence in teaching and learning.

The recipients from the School’s four departments were Caroline Mehigan of the Department of Economics, Keith Begley of the Department of Philosophy, Miriam Sorace of the Department of Political Science and Caitriona Delaney of the Department of Sociology.

Dermot McAleese Teaching Award Winners 2014/15, from left  Keith Begley, Philosophy, Miriam Sorace, Political Science, Caroline Mehigan, Economics, and Caitriona Delaney, Sociology

Speaking at the awards, Professor Daryl Jones, Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, commented: “I would like to congratulate this year’s winners who are being recognised for the invaluable contribution they have made to the education of our undergraduate students. Students have benefitted enormously from their leadership, creativity and emphasis on creative thinking.”

The awards, which are in honour of former Whately Professor of Political Economy Dermot McAleese, were established thanks to the generosity of graduates of the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy who donated to Trinity in recent years. Professor McAleese provided further generous financial support to ensure that inspiring educators in the School can be recognised for the decades to come.

The winners were selected through a nomination process which involved assessing their creativity in delivering tutorials; the role of their tutorials in stimulating critical thinking amongst the students; their responsiveness and engagement with students; organisation and problem solving skills; and the contribution of tutorials to the overall delivery of the course.

Most Read