14 Jul 2014 | Ceramicx and Tony Robinson's group develop novel IR energy mapping tool aimed at the aviation, automotive, plastics and composites industries

9 Jul 2014 | Trinity Business Incubator ‘LaunchBox’ welcomes MME student entrepreneurs Patrick Lynch, Paul Mahony and Paul Mannix

5 Jul 2014 | Rudi O'Reilly Meehan, Tim Persoons and Darina Murray are representing Trinity in the 4th International PIV Challenge in Lisbon, Portugal

4 Jul 2014 | A group of future female engineers just spent two weeks making robots in the Parsons Building

1 Jul 2014 | Seminar by Prof Burton Lee, 'Design for Manufacture' (4pm, CLT, Parsons Building)

26 Jun 2014 | Seminar by Prof Burton Lee, 'Product Design & Innovation in the Irish Economy' (6pm, Science Gallery)

19 Jun 2014 | Prof David Taylor features in The Conversation, 'Nature must remain at the heart of engineering solutions'

Welcome to the Department of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering at Trinity College Dublin. Mechanical engineers are central to any successful economy with an ever increasing demand for higher level qualification particularly in Ireland. Our department focusses on research led teaching with maximum involvement of undergraduates in project work and commitment of our large body of research students to the teaching experience.

Our main research areas are Bioengineering, Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer and Energy, Materials Science, Manufacturing and Design. We run undergraduate and postgraduate taught programmes and support about 60 research students through funded programmes from a variety of industrial, government and European industry/university consortia.

Our Department is contained in a purpose built building named after the famous 19th century Irish engineer Charles Parsons who made outstanding contributions in the area of turbine propulsion and generation.

Details of our courses, research, staff and other information about this Department can be accessed on the website.

Prof Darina Murray
Head of Discipline