Computer account expiry (students)
Notification of username expiry
As you approach the completion of your time as a registered Trinity student you will be notified by email that your Trinity username, and associated computer account, will expire. You will be emailed with at least 2-week's notice prior to the date of expiry and your computer account will expire automatically after that date.
Prior to the account expiring, you should backup any data held in your personal filestorage folder or on other IT systems in Trinity which you will be ultimately losing access to. Remember that your MyZone email account is for life and will not expire and so there is no need to backup email or data files held in your MyZone account. Similarly most students will retain access to records at my.tcd.ie after leaving Trinity.
Reactivation or unexpiry of accounts
If you believe your account has been incorrectly set to expire then you should contact the Academic Registry during the two-week notice period in order to avoid the automatic expiring of the account. Should your computer account have already expired then it cannot be reactivated until you have been re-registered for Trinity.
Change in status
If you are changing status from:
- Undergraduate to Postgraduate -
if you are progressing directly from undergraduate to postgraduate status then you will keep the same username and your current password.
- Student to Staff - you will not
be able to retain your student username when you move to staff status.
You will receive a new staff number and also a new Trinity username and email
address. As a Trinity staff member you are obliged to use this new username and email address.
You may wish to set email forwarding from the old
email address to the new one, or vice-versa.
Q. What should I do to save any files I have on the network or in Personal Filestorage?
A. It is vital that you create a copy of any files you wish to keep as you will not be able to access files saved on the Trinity systems after your account has expired. See our page on how to backup files from personal filestorage for examples of the recommended approach. Backing up of files must be done prior to the account expiry date. As you retain your MyZone email account after finishing in Trinity there is no need to backup that data, nor data held at my.tcd.ie as you will still have access to this service after your account expires.
Q. Can I request that my data files be retrieved after my account expires?
A. IT Services will not be in a position to retrieve any data files subsequent to the expiry date of the account.
Q. Will my MyZone email account expire?
A. Your Trinity MyZone email account, provided by Google, is yours for life and so it is not affected by the expiry of your Trinity computer accounts. After your computer account expires you should contact the TCD Alumni Relations Office at +353 (0)1 896 2088 if you have problems accessing your MyZone account. Should you need assistance in using MyZone, visit the extensive Help pages by clicking on the links on the top of the MyZone login page.
Q. Will I still have access to information at my.tcd.ie?
A. Yes, after your Trinity computer account expires you will still be able to access your records at my.tcd.ie. If you have difficulties logging in at my.tcd.ie then select the 'Forgotten your password' option on the login page at my.tcd.ie and follow the steps on screen.
Q. My device connects to the Trinity network, how do I remove the settings?
A. Those connected to the TCDconnect service should follow the instructions for removing the TCDconnect settings. Postgraduates connected to the wired network in Trinity offices and labs should follow the steps for removing the network settings for the wired network in offices and labs.
Q. I am going off-books and will not be sitting exams - what are my computer account entitlements?
A. Students who go off books and who will not be sitting exams will retain access to their MyZone email account, as this email account is for life, but will have their main Trinity computer account expired. For that reason it will be necessary to backup any important data from Trinity IT systems before going off-books. Upon returning to Trinity and re-registering your computer account will be re-activated.
Need further help?
Search the Knowledge Base for how-to’s and answers to commonly asked questions
Please be aware of the IT Service Desk opening hours