Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



You are here Information for Teaching and Professional Staff > DLO School Contacts

Disability Liaison Officers

DLO

A list of all DLOs in Schools provided as part of the set up of dissemination of LENS information in SITS are given here. DLO roles and responsibilities are listed below.

How to find your Disability Liaison Officer


Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Name

Email

Telephone

Disability Officer School contact

Business

Ms. Joanne Carolan

Joanne.Carolan@tcd.ie

01-896 2341

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Drama, Film and Music

Dr Nick Johnson

johnson@tcd.ie

01-896 2295

Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie

Education

Dr John Kubiak

kubiak@tcd.ie

01-896 3442

Cecily Roche

English

Dr Jarlath Killeen

killeej@tcd.ie

01-896 2337

Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie

Histories and Humanities

Ciaran Brady

cbrady@tcd.ie

01-896 1578

Caroline Morgan camorgan@tcd.ie

Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies

Dr Rachel Hoare

rmhoare@tcd.ie

01-896 1842

Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie

Law

Dr. Andelka Philips

phillian@tcd.ie

01-896 1939

Cecily Roche -

Linguistic, Speech and Communication Studies

Prof. Ailbhe Ni Chasaide

anichsid@tcd.ie

01-896 1348

Andrew Costello - acostel@tcd.ie

Psychology

Lorraine Swords

swordsl@tcd.ie

01-896 3638

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Social Science and Philosophy

Dr Ben Bramble

brambleb@tcd.ie

01-896 5003

Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie

Social Work and Social Policy

Assistant Prof. Michael Feely

mfeely@tcd.ie

01-896 4101

Clare Malone -malonec6@tcd.ie

Irish School of Ecumenics

Prof Andrew Pierce

piercean@tcd.ie

01-896 4782

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Department of Religions and Theology

Dr Iain Atack

atacki@tcd.ie

01-8964777

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Loyola Institute

Dr Katie Dunne

kdunne5@tcd.ie

01-896 4795

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie
       
Faculty of Engineering, Mathematics and Science        

Biochemistry and Immunology

Ms Martha Motherway Gildea 

motherm@tcd.ie

01-896 4257

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Chemistry

Professor Paula Colavitae:

colavitp@tcd.ie

01- 896 3562

Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie

Computer Science and Statistics

Dr Andrew Butterfield

Andrew.Butterfield@tcd.ie

01-896 2517

Andrew Costello acostel@tcd.ie

Engineering

Judy Lee

julee@tcd.ie

01-896 1383

Clare Malone -malonec6@tcd.ie

Genetics and Microbiology

Jane Farrar

gjfarrar@tcd.ie

01-896 3695

Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie

Mathematics

Ms. Karen O'Doherty

kodohert@tcd.ie

01-896 1889 Cecily Roche -

Natural Sciences

Dr Catherine Coxon

cecoxon@tcd.ie

01-896 2235

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Physics

Dr Plamel Stamenov

stamenov.plamen@tcd.ie

01-896 4350

Caroline Morgan camorgan@tcd.ie

Faculty of Health Sciences

 

Dental Science

Prof. Derek Sullivan

derek.sullivan@dental.tcd.ie

01-612 7275

Declan Treanor - dtreanor@tcd.ie

Medicine

Cristina Boccardo

boccardc@tcd.ie

01-896 3829

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Radiation Therapy

Ms. Claire Poole

poolec@tcd.ie

01-896 2973

Clare Malone -malonec6@tcd.ie

Nursing

Professor Naomi Elliott

elliotn@tcd.ie

01-896 3106

Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie

Midwifery

Dr Denise Lawler

lawlorde@tcd.ie

01-896 4074

Kieran Lewis - klewis@tcd.ie

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr John Walsh

jjwalsh@tcd.ie

01-896 2806

Cecily Roche -

Occupational Therapy

Dr Clodagh Nolan

nolancl@tcd.ie

01-896 3211

Declan Reilly - reillyde@tcd.ie

Physiotherapy

Ms Sarah McLaughlin

physio@tcd.ie

01-896 2110

Clare Malone -malonec6@tcd.ie

What does a Disability Liaison Officer do?

DLO

Trinity has a well-established support system at School-level to ensure the needs of students with disabilities are addressed. Each school has a nominated staff member who is a key contact within the School for issues relating to disability support, called a Disability Liaison Officer (DLO).


The role of the School DLO is to oversee/monitor the School's process to ensure the effective dissemination and implementation of Reasonable Accommodations proposed by the DS. The DLO responsibilities include the following:

  • To ensure that School staff who need to be aware of students' Reasonable Accommodations have access to the information in SITS.
  • To raise with the relevant Director of Teaching & Learning and/or the Disability Service any concerns regarding accommodations that may impact the academic integrity or core competence standards of teaching and learning within the School.  
  • Liaising with Disability Service staff, their School's Directors of Teaching & Learning and Programme/Course Directors, and assisting in making Reasonable Accommodations for students, and exchanging information as required.
  • The DLO is the first point of contact for students with disabilities when dealing with disability queries.
  • The DLO should have a general awareness and understanding of University and school policies, procedures, and practices, and how these may impact on students with disabilities and long term conditions.     
  • The DLO should also have an awareness and understanding of Equality and Disability legislation, to ensure that their school is compliant with the legislation and is promoting inclusive learning for all students
  • The DLO is not expected to have expert knowledge of disability issues. However, it is important that they work in collaboration with the Disability Service to identify training needs within the school.
  • To be part of a University-wide network of DLOs for the purposes of sharing expertise, good practice and relevant knowledge, skills, and experience. The network will be supported by the DS
  • To report to Academic Registry any technical issues with the SITS system for sharing students’ (LENS) Reasonable Accommodations
  • To develop effective working relationships and establish positive lines of communication with the DS
  • To attend training, workshops, and information events organised by DS.