### Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

# The University of Dublin

### **Trinity College**

# Minutes of Board Meeting, Monday 15 May 2006 Trinity Monday

Present

Provost (Dr J Hegarty), Vice-Provost (Dr R M J Byrne), Registrar (Dr D J Dickson), Bursar (Dr D C Williams), Senior Lecturer (Dr C Kearney), Dr N Biggar, Dr A Butterfield, Ms M Coffey, Dr A Donnelly, Dr J M Kelly, Dr M Lynch, Dr E Mac Cárthaigh, Mr D McCormack, Mr J Mannion, Ms S O'Brien, Dr D O'Donovan, Dr J Parnell, Dr A Piesse, Dr J K Vij.

In attendance

(ex officio) Secretary.

### **SECTION A**

The Provost welcomed Dr J K Vij to his first meeting of Board.

Those present made the statutory declaration.

### BD/05-06/277 Election to Fellowship

(a) **Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 6** The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 6:

Stephen Richard Flint
Denis Brendan Tangney
Helen Buckley
Brian Michael Broderick
Tomás Eoin O'Sullivan
Darryl Richard Jones
Siobhán Clarke
John Waldron
Eve Veronica Patten
Nicola Mary Marples
Patrick Nevill Wyse Jackson
Biswajit Basu
Stefano Sanvito

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

(b) **Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 7** The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 7:

Thomas Richard Frazer Rogers Mathias Senge William Harrison

# (c) **Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 9** The Board elected the following to Honorary Fellowship:

Derrick Crothers Shaun Richard McCann

## BD/05-06/278 Election to Scholarship The Board elected the following:

## (a) Foundation Scholarship

Classics Iarfhlaith Manny.

Biblical and Theological Studies Clement William Grene.

Economic and Social Studies John Denis Lavelle; Barry Gallagher.

Medicine Ciara Maguire.

Dental Science Denise Bowe.

Engineering Stephen Liam Adams; Fiona Louise Gamble.

Two-subject Moderatorship Michael Patrick Curran; Michael Kolesar.

Theoretical Physics Robert Clancy; Padraig Liddy.

B.Sc. (Information Systems) Honors Helena Moir.

Computational Physics/Computational Chemistry Michael Patrick Byrne.

## (b) Non-Foundation Scholarship

Classics Kevin McGee.

Psychology Amy Louise Colla; Lorraine Hester.

*Natural Sciences* Brian Steer; Anna Linehan; Dorothea Ogmore Tilley; Aisling Buckley; Caitrionna Jane Roche.

Pharmacy Jennifer Dwyer.

Physiotherapy Cuisle O'Donovan; Caitriona Walsh.

Early and Modern Irish Stephanie Rousseau.

History Christopher Kissane; Seamus Conboy.

Economic and Social Studies Nicola Dunne; Charlie Nolan.

Law Aoife Teresa Beirne; Brenda Carron; Oisin Padraig Tobin.

Theology Barry George Forde.

European Studies Grace Bolton.

Medicine Terence Patrick Joseph Farrell; Niamh Catherine Adams; Laura Cowley; Wing Suet Judy Hung; Claire McGovern; Siobhra O'Sullivan; Naomi Malika Petty-Saphon; David Anthony Foley; Paul Robert Webster;

Dental Science Breda Elizabeth Martin.

*Two-subject Moderatorship* Niamh Crilly; Paul Earlie; Caroline Cullen; Sarah Mercy Gubbins; Deirdre Hosford; Eimear Maire Nic Diarmada.

Social Studies Aimee Edith Joyce.

Mathematics Cathal Joseph Paul Cooney; Seamus Charles Kelly.

Theoretical Physics Cathal Leahy; David Anthony Leen; Aaron Joseph Meagher

Law and French Stephen John Walsh; Joseph Harrington; Ciara Murphy.

Philosophy and Political Science Tara Vita Austin; Steven William Clarke.

Human Genetics Neil Patrick John Sewell.

Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials Rudy Arthur.

# BD/05-06/279 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship The following prizes were awarded:

St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize Robert Clancy.

Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division 1 No recommendation received.

Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division II Thomas Gordon McCormack; Chloe Patricia Abigail Ingle Sanderson; Louis Adam Conry.

John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize Iarfhlaith Manny.

Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship Caroline Elizabeth Stanley.

Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize Declan Malachy Cockburn.

Michael Roberts Prize Niamh Farrell.

John Henry Bernard Prize Proinsias O'Fearghail.

Cotter Prize in Modern Languages Rahul Bery.

#### BD/05-06/280

**Voting Rights of Newly-elected Fellows** The Board noted that the Fellows' assent to a change in the Statutes relating to the University Council had been sought by the Registrar on 2 May 2006. The closing date for the receipt of assents was 16 May 2006, the day on which the New Fellows would make the declaration in accordance with Chapter V, Paragraph 11 of the Statutes.

The Secretary advised that the matter of whether the newly-elected Fellows should be part of the assent-seeking process is unclear in the Statutes, which are silent on whether those who are Fellows at the beginning of the process, or those who are Fellows at the end form those whose assent should be sought. The Board agreed that this issue should be referred to the visitors as a *dubium* in accordance with Chapter III, paragraph 5.

It was further agreed that pending the Visitors' determination, no further action would be taken.

Signed:	
Date:	