Records

Special record volumes are published from time to time as the Board may direct, the most recent being in 2006. It contains lists of scholars (1951-2000), honorary degrees conferred (1949-2000), degrees conferred and qualifications awarded (1949-2000), moderators and respondents (1950-2000).

BURKITT MEDAL

Established in 2013, the Burkitt Medal is designed to recognise people with the integrity, compassion and dedication matching that of Denis Burkitt, a Trinity graduate, who is known for his discovery of Burkitt lymphoma.

The Burkitt Medal represents an opportunity for Trinity to acknowledge outstanding achievements of practitioners and researchers in cancer, preferably connected with Trinity or with a potential to establish closer links. It is also a channel for raising profile of the quality work conducted by Trinity academics and of Trinity's rich heritage.

TEACHING AWARDS

The Teaching Awards recognise and celebrate those who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence. There are two categories, the Trinity Excellence in Teaching Award, and the School or Unit Award. 'Teaching' can be interpreted broadly to include curriculum design, delivery and evaluation, and 'teaching excellence' can take many forms. In the context of this award, 'teaching excellence' can be defined as achieving and sustaining outstanding quality of teaching and positive educational impact through the effective use of pedagogies that engage and enhance student learning. The prestige of the award reflects the value that Trinity places on promoting teaching as a scholarly activity and the importance placed on enriching the learning opportunities of its students. The Trinity Excellence in Teaching Award is a competitive process, with up to five awards made each year.

The scope of the teaching award initiative is broad, covering all aspects of teaching, learning and assessment, and seeks to:

- provide recognition for outstanding teaching
- encourage teaching staff to reflect critically on their teaching and learning practice
- encourage teaching staff to consider scholarly approaches to course design, delivery and assessment
- reaffirm that curriculum development, teaching, learning, assessment, and evaluation are important activities in College requiring high level expertise
- share best practice in teaching, learning and assessment across College

All members of Trinity academic staff, or academic-related professionals with roles in supporting teaching and learning, are eligible for nomination by students, alumni and staff. Candidates must receive a student or alumni nomination to be deemed eligible to proceed and must also be on one of the following contracts: permanent contracts, indefinite duration contracts, contracts of more than one year in duration that do not expire before the end of June in the year of submission, or adjunct lecturers with a contribution to a programme that extends thirteen months or more. Eligible nominated candidates will be contacted and invited to submit an application for the award.

Trinity Excellence in Teaching Award recipients 2024:

Bray, Aibhín – School of Education

Heffernan, Liz - School of Law

Hoare, Rachel - School of Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies

Saunders, Matthew - School of Natural Sciences

Strong, Glenn - School of Computer Science and Statistics

Calendar 2024-25 W1

Records

School Award for Teaching Excellence recipients 2024:

Baker, Robert - School of Chemistry

Cannon, Sheila - Trinity Business School

Egan, Martyn - School of Social Sciences and Philosophy

Erickson, Jacob - School of Religion, Theology, and Peace Studies

Gibson, Neale - School of Physics

Holt, Stephanie - School of Social Work and Social Policy

Hunter, Aaron - School of Creative Arts

McMahon, Martin - School of Nursing and Midwifery

O'Neill, Suzanne - School of Histories and Humanities

O'Rourke, Eugene - School of Engineering

Phelan, Seán - School of Dental Science

Romero-Ortuno, Roman - School of Medicine

Ryan, Cristin - School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Swords, Lorraine - School of Psychology

Wu. Chaolun - School of Mathematics

ELECTIONS TO FELLOWSHIP DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (a)

Irvine. Alan

Vanneste, Sven

Connolly, Deirdre Mary

Leroi. Iracema

Brophy. Caroline

O'Connell, Anne

Harbison, Joseph Augustine

Moran, Garv

Bennett. Gareth

Uhlich, Christofer Jürgen

Murchan Damian

Darker, Catherine

Ghosh, Bidisha

Maguire, Kate

Santos-Martinez, Maria Jose

Sheerin, Fintan

McNamee, Eoin

Duncan, Hal

Ivers, Jo-Hanna

Maher, Stephen

Monaghan, Michael

O'Hagan Luff, Martha

Bates, Julie

Conlon, Catherine

Ó Murchadha, Noel

Silver, Kenneth

Butterfield, Andrew

Huggard, Meriel

García Iriarte, Edurne

Saunders, Matthew

Dunne. Peter

McGouran, Joanna

Gallagher, John

W2 Calendar 2024-25

Igoe, David Pevarello, Daniele Payne, Nicholas Sweetnam, Mark Gibson, Neale Dillon-Savage, Jesse Banks, Joanne Chzhen, Yekaterina Flynn, Susan Porcedda, Maria Grazia

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (b)

Collings, David Walsh, Cathal Earner-Byrne, Lindsey

Elected to Honorary Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 11

Gallagher, Peter Kelleher, Deborah Kelleher, Dermot Patrick Alfred Oldham, Elizabeth Evelyn

HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24

1 December 2023

DOCTOR IN SCIENCE

Coey, Michael

DOCTORS IN LETTERS

McKay, Susan Sheil, Fergus

DOCTOR IN LAWS

Irvine, Mary

14 June 2024

DOCTOR IN SCIENCE

O'Hagan, Leonard

DOCTORS IN LAWS

McHugh, Anna May O'Gorman, Colm Van Rompuy, Herman

Calendar 2024-25 W3