Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Trinity College Dublin - Academic and Artistic Collections

The spectacular Long Room within The Old Library has, for 300 years, served as the main communicative interface for Trinity’s creative and cultural achievements and events. There exists an additional wealth of material culture in the form of the College’s specialised teaching collections acting as important resources that are also directly in contact with the core business of College - research and teaching. These are mainly cared for in an honorary capacity by dedicated individuals in related disciplines. Together with the Library collections, they embody Trinity’s rich heritage, representing 400 years of its place at the centre of Irish and international intellectual and cultural life. The unique nature of these collections in relation to their public counterparts is that they have emerged from an essentially research-driven quest for knowledge and a desire to disseminate and develop this knowledge primarily for didactic and scholarly purposes.

The Academic and Artistic Collections - a summary (Last updated, March 2016; Download pdf 730kb)

Anatomy Museum, Department of Anatomy, Anatomy Building www.medicine.tcd.ie/anatomy/
Contacts: Philomena McAteer pmcateer@tcd.ie ; Siobhan Ward sward@tcd.ie ; Mary Lynch lynchmc@tcd.ie ; Claire Murphy clmurphy@tcd.ie

Art Collections, Office for the College Secretary, Campus-wide www.tcd.ie/artcollections
Contact: Catherine Giltrap  catherine.giltrap@tcd.ie

Herbarium, Department of Botany, Botany Building www.tcd.ie/Botany/herbarium  
Contact: Prof. John Parnell  jparnell@tcd.ie

Civil Engineering Heritage Archive, The Department of Civil, Structural & Environmental Engineering, Museum Building www.tcd.ie/civileng/research/heritage/
Contact: Dr. Ron Cox  rcox@tcd.ie

Classics Collection, Department of Classics, Arts Building www.tcd.ie/Classics/
Contacts: Prof. Brian McGing and Dr. Hazel Dodge
bmcging@tcd.ie , hdodge@tcd.ie

Computer Science Collection, School of Computer Science and Statistics, O’Reilly Institute www.scss.tcd.ie/SCSSTreasuresCatalog/
Contact: Dr. Brian Coghlan coghlan@cs.tcd.ie

Geological Museum, Department of Geology www.tcd.ie/Geology/museum/
Contact: Dr. Patrick WyseJackson wysjcknp@tcd.ie

Weingreen Museum, Department of Near and Middle Eastern Studies
Contact: Dr. Zuleika Rodgers rodgersz@tcd.ie

Zoological Museum, Department of Zoology www.tcd.ie/Zoology/museum
Contact: Dr. Martyn Linnie mlinnie@tcd.ie


Last updated 9 May 2018 catherine.giltrap@tcd.ie (Email).