Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Cricket Club's impressive innings

Published: 16th June 2017

At 182 years old, Trinity Cricket Club boasts the fact that it’s the oldest club in college. It also celebrated another landmark recently with an alumni lunch in the Pav to mark their 1,000th game. The first of those 1,000 games was back in 1919, when the Leinster league was formed and competitive matches began.

Over 80 guests turned up to lunch in the Pav, which provided the perfect vantage point to watch the home side triumph over Rush, in a game that had to be reduced from 50 to 41 overs due to water on the crease. Among those present were Michelle Tanner, Head of Sport, Warren Deutrom, CEO of Cricket Ireland and Philip Smith, CEO Cricket Leinster.

To mark their millennium, Trinity Cricket Club traced back through the Leinster League’s annals to compile a list of all those who’ve togged out for the college in those 1,000 matches.

The end result is 785 men and women, each of whom has been designated their own unique cap with a number on. So alum Ed Joyce is number 646. Current team member, Irish international and sports scholar Lorcan Tucker is number 774. Samuel Beckett is also a Trinity Cricket Club alum. His number 47 cap was presented to Senator David Norris at the match in Trinity.

In addition, a posthumous presentation was made to the wife of former DUCAC Chair Trevor West. Maura Lee accepted a cap with the number 1,000 from club president Keith Synnott.

Photo above (L-R): Angela Synnott, Martha Young, Collette Blake, Senator Norris, Shelley Hoey, Lynne Synnott and Julianne Lee