Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links


News Archive : Academic Year 2013-2014

  • Trinity Politics graduates appointed to cabinet
    Two of the department’s alumni were appointed members of the Irish government in July 2014. These are Paschal Donohoe, Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport (BESS, Political Science and Economics, BA 1996) and Alex White, Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources (BESS, Political Science, BA 1981).
  • Trinity Politics graduate elected Lord Mayor of Belfast
    Nichola Mallon (BESS Political Science and Economics graduate, 2002), who has been an SDLP member of Belfast City Council since 2010, was elected Lord Mayor of Belfast on 6 June 2014.
  • Professor Gail McElroy to speak at Trinity US Open Day
    The Head of the Department of Political Science will give a talk titled Political corruption, causes and consequences during Trinity’s US Open Day events programme taking place on 11th and 12th April in New York and Maryland.
  • Lecture by Political Science Graduate and Minister for European Affairs
    Paschal Donohoe TD, Minister for European Affairs (B.A. 1996) delivered a public lecture in Trinity College on the EU career opportunities open to Irish graduates. The talk was part of a special seminar arranged by EU Jobs Ireland in partnership with Trinity's Careers Advisory Service.
  • New appointments in Political Science
    The Department welcomes four new members of staff as from the start of academic year 2013-14. Dr Michelle D'Arcy (Quality of Governance Institute, Goteborg) is Assistant Professor in the Politics of Developing Countries, and Dr Tom Louwerse (University of Leiden) is Assistant Professor in Comparative Politics. Dr Jean-Yves Haine (University of Toronto) and Dr Caroline McEvoy (TCD) join the staff as Teaching Fellows.
  • Departure of staff members
    In summer 2013 a number of staff members moved on to new positions: Dr Christian Houle (Michigan State University), Dr Koji Kagotani, Dr Paul Kenny (Australian National University), Dr Tom Pegram (University College London), Dr Jeff Weber (Keimyung University Taegu). We thank them for their great contribution and wish them well in their new positions.
  • Dermot McAleese Teaching Award
    The award for Political Science, funded by the generosity of alumni and of Professor McAleese, went to Michael Courtney, a final-year PhD student in the department.

Last updated 7 July 2015