Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Peer Reviewed

[2012] [2011] [2010] [2009] [2008] [2007] [2006] [2005] [2004] [2003] [2002] [2001] [2000] [1999] [1998] [1997] [1996] [1995] [1994] [1993] [1992] [1991]

2012

"Mn2Au: Body-Centred-Tetragonal Bimetallic Antiferromagnets Grown by Molecular Beam Epitaxy", Wu, Han-Chun, Liao, Zhi-Min, Sofin, R. G. S., Feng, G., Ma, Xiu-Mei, Shick, A. B., Myrasov, O. N. Shvets, I. V., Advanced Materials 24 (47), 6374, (Dec 2012)

"Equilibrium faceting formation in vicinal Al2O3 (0001) surface caused by annealing", Verre, R., Sofin, R. G. S., Usov, V., Fleischer, K., Fox, D., Behan, G., Zhang, H., Shvets, I. V., Surface Science 606 (23-24), 1815-1820 (Dec 2012)

"Antiband instability on vicinal Si (111) under the condition of diffusion-limited sublimation", Usov, V., Stoyanov, S., O Coileain, C., Toktarbaiuly, O., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 86 (19), 195317 (Nov 2012)

"Aluminium doped Zn1-xMgxO - A transparent conducting oxide with tunable optical and electrical properties", Fleischer, K., Arca, E., Smith, C., Shvets, I. V., Applied Physics Letters 101 (12), 121918 (Sept 2012)

"Transversal magneto-resistance in epitaxial Fe3O4 and Fe3O4/NiO exchange biased system", Wu, Han-Chun, Ramos, R., Sofin, R. G. S., Liao, Zhi-Min, Abid, M., Shvets, I. V., Applied Physics Letters 101 (5), 052402 (July 2012)

"Finite element method simulations of heat flow in fixed bed solar water splitting redox reactors", Bulfin, B., Murphy, B. E., Luebben, O., Krasnikov, S. A., Shvets, I. V., International Journal of Hydrogen Energy 37 (13), 10028 (July 2012)

"Strain induced exciton fine-structure splitting and shift in bent ZnO microwires", Zhi-Min Liao, Han-Chun Wu, Qiang Fu, Xuewen Fu, Xinli Zhu, Jun Xu, Igor V. Shvets, Zhuhua Zhang, Wanlin Guo, Yamin Leprince-Wang, Qing Zhao, Xiaosong Wu, Da-Peng Yu, NATURE Scientific Reports 2, 452 (June 2012)

"Magnetic properties of planar nanowire arrays of Co fabricated on oxidized step-bunched silicon templates", Arora, S. K., O'Dowd, B. J., Ballesteros, B., Gambardella, P., Shvets, I. V., Nanotechnology 23 (23), 235702 (June 2012)

"Improving solar cell efficiency with optically optimised TCO layers", Fleischer, K., Arca, E., Shvets, I. V., Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells 101, 262 (June 2012)

"Large Magnetoresistance in Few Layer Graphene Stacks with Current Perpendicular to Plane Geometry", Liao, Z. M., Wu, H. C., Kumar, S., Duesberg, G. S., Zhou, Y. B., Cross, G. L. W., Shvets, I. V., Yu, D. P., Advanced Materials 24 (14), 1862 (April 2012)

"Structural and magnetic properties of planar nanowire arrays of Co grown on oxidized vicinal silicon (111) templates", Arora, S. K., O'Dowd, B. J., Nistor, C., Balashov, T., Ballesteros, B., Rizzini, A. L., Kavich, J. J., Dhesi, S. S., Gambardella, P., Shvets, I. V., Journal of Applied Physics 111 (7), 07E342 (April 2012)

"Self-assembly of Fe nanoclusters arrays on templated surfaces", Lubben, O., Krasnikov, S. A., Preobrajenski, A. B., Murphy, B. E., Bozhko, S. I., Arora, S. K., Shvets, I. V., Journal of Applied Physics 111 (7), 07B515 (April 2012)

"Growth and ordering of Ni(II) diphenylporphyrin monolayers on Ag(111) and Ag/Si(111) studied by STM and LEED", Murphy, B. E., Krasnikov, S. A., Cafolla, A. A., Sergeeva, N. N., Vinogradov, N. A., Beggan, J. P., Senge, M. O., Shvets, I. V., Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter 24 (4), 045005 (Feb 2012)

"Controlled in situ growth of tunable plasmonic self-assembled nanoparticle arrays", Verre, R., Fleischer, K., McGilp, J. F., Fox, D., Behan, G., Zhang, H., Shvets, I. V., Nanotechnology 23 (3), 035606 (Jan 2012)

"Self-assembled broadband plasmonic nanoparticle arrays for sensing applications", Verre, R., Fleischer, K., Ualibek, O., Shvets, I. V., Applied Physics Letters 100 (3), 031102 (Jan 2012)

"Statistical distribution of the electric field-driven switching of the Verwey state in Fe3O4" Fursina, A. A., Sofin, R. G. S., Shvets, I. V., Natelson, D., New Journal of Physics 14, 013019 (Jan 2012)

"An alternative fluorine precursor for the synthesis of SnO2:F by spray pyrolysis", Arca, E., Fleischer, K., Shvets, I. V., This Solid Films 520 (6), 1856 (Jan 2012)

2011

"Anomalous magnetization reversal due to proximity effect of antiphase boundaries", Sofin, R. G. S., Wu, H. C., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 84 (21), 212403 (December 2011)

"Rotational transitions in a C-60 monolayer on the WO2/W(110) surface", Bozhko, S. I., Krasnikov, S. A., Lubben, O., Murphy, B. E., Radican, K., Semenov, V. N., Wu, H. C., Bulfin, B, Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 84 (19), 195412 (November 2011)

"Memory and Threshold Resistance Switching in Ni/NiO Core-Shell Nanowires", He, L, Liao, ZM, Wu, HC, Tian, XX, Xu, DS, Cross, GLW, Duesberg, GS,Shvets, IV, Yu, DP, Nano Letters 11 (11), 4601 (November 2011)

"Magnetotransport and Trapping of Magnetic Domain Walls in Spin Valves With Nanoconstrictions", Noh, S. J., Chun, B. S., Wu, H. C., Shvets, I. V., Chu, I. C., Abid, M., Serrano-Guisan, S., Kim, Y. K., IEEE Transaction on Magnetics 47 (10), 2436 (October 2011)

"Fe Nanoclusters on the Ge(001) Surface Studied by Scanning Tunneling Microscopy, Density Functional Theory Calculations and X-Ray Magnetic Circular Dichroism", Lubben, O., Krasnikov, S. A., Preobrajenski, A. B., Murphy, B. E., Shvets, I. V., Nano Research 4 (10), 971 (October 2011)

"Magnesium, nitrogen codoped Cr2O3: A p-type transparent conducting oxide", Arac, E., Fleischer, K., Shvets, I. V., Applied Physics Letters 99 (11), 111910 (September 2011)

"Probing the out-of-plane optical response of plasmonic nanostructures using spectroscopic ellipsometry", Verre, R., Fleischer, K., Smith, C., McAlinden, N., McGilp, J. F., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 84 (8), 085440 (August 2011)

"Two-Dimensional Nanosheets Produced by Liquid Exfoliation of Layered Materials", Coleman JN, Lotya M, O'Neill A, Bergin SD, King PJ, Khan U, Young K, Gaucher A, De S, Smith RJ, Shvets IV, Arora SK, Stanton G, Kim HY, Lee K, Kim GT, Duesberg GS, Hallam T, Boland JJ, Wang JJ, Donegan JF, Grunlan JC, Moriarty G, Shmeliov A, Nicholls RJ, Perkins JM, Grieveson EM, Theuwissen K, McComb DW, Nellist PD, Nicolosi V, Science 331 (6017), 568-571 (Feb 2011)

"Critical field behaviour and antiband instability under controlled surface electromigration on Si (111)", O Coileain, C., Usov, V., Shvets, I. V., Stoyanov, S., Physical Review B 84 (7), 075318 (August 2011) [abstract]

"Magnetoelectric bahaviour of ferrimagnetic Bi(x)Co(2-x)MNO(4) (x=0, 0.1 and 0.3) thin films", Rajeevan, NE, Kumar, R Shukla, DK, Choudhary, RJ, Thakur, P, Singh, AK, Patnaik, S, Arora, SK, Shvets, IV, Pradyumnan, PP, Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic MAterials 323 (13), 1760-1765 (July 2011) [abstract]

"Positive antiphase boundary domain wall magnetoresistance in Fe3O4 (110) heteroepitaxial films", Sofin, R. G. S., Arora, S. K., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 83 (13), 134436 (April 2011) [abstract]

"Experimental quantitative study into the effects of electromigration field moderation on step bunching instability development on Si(111)", Usov, V., O Coileain, C., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 83 (15), 155321 (April 2011) [abstract]

"In situ characterization of one-dimensional plasmonic Ag nanocluster arrays", Verre, V., Fleischer, K, Sofin, R. G. S., McAlinden, N., McGilp, J. F., Shvets, I. V., Physical Review B 83 (12), 125432 (March 2011) [abstract]

"Self-Assembly and Ordering of C60 on the WO2/W(110) Surface", Krasnikov, SA, Bozhko, SI, Radican, K, Lubben, O, Murphy, BE, Vadapoo, SR, Wu, HC, Abid, M, Semenov, VN, Shvets, IV, NANO RESEARCH 4 (2), 194-203 (Febrary 2011) [abstract]

"Magnetoresistance of Fe3O4-graphene-Fe3O4 junctions", Liao, ZM, Wu, HC, Wang, JJ, Cross, GLW, Kumar, S, Shvets, IV, Duesberg, GS, Applied Physics Letters 98 (5), 052500 (Jan 2011) [abstract]

"Evolution of magnetic nanophases of Ni embedded in Al(2)O(3) (001) matrix by X-ray magnetic circular dichroism", Thakur, P, Kumar, R, Cezar, JC, Brookes, NB, Sharma, A, Arora, SK, Gautam, S, Kumar, A, Chae, KH, Shvets, IV, Chemical Physics Letters 501 (4-6), 404-408 (Jan 2011) [abstract]

"Thickness dependence of the effective damping in epitaxial Fe(3)O(4)/MgO thin films ", Serrano-Guisan, S, Wu, HC, Boothman, C, Abid, M, Chun, BS, Shvets, IV, Schumacher, HW, Journal of Applied Physics 109 (1), 013907 (Jan 2011) [abstract]

2010

Selecting the tip electron orbital for scanning tunneling microscopy imaging with sub-angstrom lateral resolution", Chaika AN, Nazin SS, Semenov VN, Bozhko SI, Lubben O, Krasnikov SA, Radican K, Shvets IV, EPL 92 (4), 46003 (November 2010)

"Large magnetorefractive effect in magnetite", Caicedo JM, Arora SK, Ramos R, Shvets IV, Fontcuberta J, Herranz G, New Journal of Physics 12, 103023 (October 2010)

"Influence of electromigration field on the step bunching process on Si(111)", Usov, V, O Coileain, C, Shvets, IV, Physical Review B 82 (15), 153301 (October 2010)

"Ferrimagnetism of the magnetoelectric compound Cu2OSeO3 probed by Se-77 NMR", Belesi M1, Rousochatzakis I, Wu HC, Berger H, Shvets IV, Mila F, Ansermet JP, Physical Review B 82 (9), 094422 (September 2010)

"Oxidation of W(110) studied by LEED and STM", Radican K, Bozhko SI, Vadapoo SR, Ulucan S, Wu HC, Mccoy A, Shvets IV, Surface Science 604 (19-20), 1548-1551 (September 2010)

"The effect of deposition power on the electrical properties of Al-doped xinc oxide thin films", Chun BS, Wu HC, Abid M, Chu IC, Serrano-Guisan S, Shvets IV, Choi DS, Applied Physics Letters 97 (8), 082109 (August 2010)

"Self-limited growth of triangular PtO2 nanoclusters on the Pt (111) surface", Krasnikov, S. A., Murphy, S., Berdunov, N., McCoy, A. P., Radican, K., Shvets, I. V., NANOTECHNOLOGY 21 (33), 335301 (August 2010) [abstract]

"Surface morphology of c-plane sapphire (alpha-alumina) produced by high temperature anneal", Cuccureddu, F., Murphy, S., Shvets, I. V., Porcu, M., Zandbergen, H. W., Sidorov, N. S., Bozhko, S. I., SURFACE SCIENCE 604 (15-16), 1294-1299 (August 2010) [abstract]

"Influence of miscut direction on magnetic anisotropy of magnetite films grown on vicinal MgO (100)", Golub, V. O., Dzyublyuk, V. V., Tovstolytkin, A. I., Arora, S. K., Ramos, R., Sofin, R. G. S., Shvets, I. V., J. Appl. Phys. 107 (9), 09B108 (May 2010)

"Probing one antiferromagnetic anti-phase boundary and single magnetite domain using nanogap contacts", Wu, H.C., Abid, Mohamed, Chun, Byong S., Ramos, R., Mryasov, Oleg, Shvets, I.V., Nano Letters, 10 (4), 1132-1136 (March 2010) [abstract]

"Interplay of bulk and interface effects in the electric-field-driven transition in magnetite", A. A. Fursina, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, D. Natelson, Phys. Rev. B 81 (4), 045123 (2010) [abstract]

2009

"Inverted magnetoresistance in dual spin valve structures with a synthetic antiferromagnetic free layer", C. Fowley, B. S. Chun, H. C. Wu, M. Abid, J. U. Cho, S. J. Noh, Y. K. Kim, I. V. Shvets, J. M. D. Coey, Appl. Phys. Letters 95 (22), 222506 (2009) [abstract]

"Influence of the Percursors and Chemical Composition of the Solution on the Properties of ZnO Thin Films Grown by Spray Pyrolysis", E. Arca, K. Fleischer, I. V. Shvets, J. Phys. Chem. C 113 (50), 21074 (2009) [abstract]

"Bi-substitution-induced magnetic moment distribution in spinel BixCo2-xMnO4 multiferroic", N. E. Rajeevan, R. Kumar, D. K. Shukla, P. Thakur, N. B. Brookes, K. H. Chae, W. K. Choi, S. Gautam, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, P. P. Pradyumnan, J. of Phys. - Condensed Matter 21 (40), 406006 (2009) [abstract]

"Strain relaxation in Fe3O4/MgAl2O4 heterostructures: Mechanism for formation of antiphase boundaries in an epitaxial system with identical symmetries of film and substrate", M. Luysberg, R. G. S. Sofin, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 80 (2), 024111 (2009) [abstract]

"Structural, electrical and magnetic properties of Bi-substituted Co2MnO4", N. E. Rajeevan, R. Kumar, D. K. Shukla, P. P. Pradyumnan, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Materials Science and Engineering B - Advanced Functional Solid State Materials 163 (1), 48 - 56 (2009) [abstract]

"Origin of hysteresis in resistive switching in magnetite is Joule heating", A. A. Fursina, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, D. Natelson, Phys. Rev. B 79 (24), 245131 (2009) [abstract]

"Tunnnelling interlayer exchange coupling between oxide ferrimagnets: Analysis for Fe3O4/vac/Fe3O4 case", H. C. Wu, O. N. Mryasov, K. Radican, I. V. Shvets, Appl. Phys. Letters 94 (26), 262506 (2009) [abstract]

"Thin films of semiconducting lithium ferrite produced by pulsed laser deposition", R. D. Gunning, K. Rode, R. G. S. Sofin, M. Venkatesan, J. M. D. Coey, I. V. Shvets, J. G. Lunney, Applied Surface Science 255 (10), 5245 - 5247 (2009) [abstract]

2008

"Anomalous anisotropic magnetoresistance in epitaxial Fe3O4 thin films on MgO (100)", R. Ramos, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 78 (21), 214402 (2008) [abstract]

"Room-Temperature Self-Assembly of Equilateral Triangular Clusters via Friedel Oscillations", G. Manai, K. Radican, F. Delogu, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. Letters 101, 165701 (2008) [abstract]

"Plasmon Resonance in Silver Nanoparticles Arrays Grown by Atomic Terrace Low-Angle Shadowing", F. Cuccureddu, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, M. Porcu, H. W. Zandbergen, Nano Letters 8 (10), 3248 - 3256 (2008) [abstract]

“Planar nanowire arrays formed by atomic terrace low angle shadowing”, F. Cuccureddu, V. Usov, S. Murphy, C. OCoileain, I. V, Shvets, Rev. Sci. Instr. 79 (5), 053907 (May 2008) [abstract]

“1/f noise studies of swift heavy ion irradiated magnetite thin films”, M. W. Khan, R. Kumar, J. P. Srivastava, S. K. Arora, R. J. Choudhary, I. V. Shvets, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section B – Beam Interactions with Materials and Atoms 266(8), 1719 (April 2008) [abstract]

“Modifications of the structural, electrical and magnetic properties of LaFe0.5Ni0.5O3 thin films by 190 MeV Ag ion irradiation”, R. J. Choudhary, R. Kumar, M. W. Khan, J. P. Srivastava, S. I. Patil, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section B – Beam Interactions with Materials and Atoms 266 (8), 1611 (April 2008) [abstract]

"Optical magnetic circular dichroism in thresholf photoemission from a magnetite thin film", K. Hild, J. Maul, T. Meng, M. Kallmayer, G. Schroenhense, H. J. Elmers, R. Ramos, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, J. Phys. - Condensed Matter 20 (23), 235218 (June 2008) [abstract]

“Giant magnetic moment in epitaxial Fe3O4 thin films on MgO (100)”, S. K. Arora, H. C. Wu, R. J. Choudhary, I. V. Shvets, O. N., Mryasov, H. Z. Yao, W. Y Ching, Phys. Rev. B 77 (13), 134443 April 2008) [abstract]

“Magnetic moment investigations of epitaxial magnetite thin films”, M. Kallmayer, K. Hild, H. J. Elmers, S. K. Arora, H. C. Wu, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets J. Appl. Phys. 103 (7), 07D715 (April 2008) [abstract]

“Microtexture of magnetite thin films of (001) and (111) orientations on MgO substrates studied by electron-backscatter diffraction”, A. Koblischka-Veneva, M. R. Koblischka, S. Murphy, S. K. Arora, F. Mucklich, U. Hartmann, I. V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 103 (7), 07E505 (April 2008) [abstract]

“Nanogaps with very large aspect ratios for electrical measurements”, A. Fursina, S. Lee, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, D. Natelson, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92 (11) 113102 (March 2008) [abstract]

“Magnetoelectric properties of BixCo2-xMnO4 (0 <= x <= 0.3)”, N. E. Rajeevan, P. P. Pradyumnan, R. Kumar, D. K. Shukla, S. Kumar, A. K. Singh, S. Patnaik, S. K. Arora, I. v. Shvets, Appl. Phys. Lett. 92 (10), 102910 (March 2008) [abstract]

“In plane magnetic anisotropies in Fe3O4 films on vicinal MgO (100)”, L. McGuigan, R. C. Barklie, R. G. S. Sofin, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 77, 174424 (May 2008) [abstract]

“Studies of the periodic faceting of epitaxial molybdenum oxide grown on Mo (110)”, K. Radican, N. Berdunov, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 77, 085417 (2008) [abstract]

“Electrically driven phase transition in magnetite nanostructures”, Sungabe Lee, Alexandra Fursina, John T. Mayo, Cafer T. Yavuz, Vicki L. Colvin, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, Douglas Natelson, Nature Materials 7, 130 (2008) [abstract]

“Concept of a nanowire array magnetoresistance device”, I.V. Shvets, H. C. Wu, V. Usov, F. Cuccureddu, S. K. Arora, S. Murphy, Appl. Phys. Letters 92, 023107 (2008) [abstract]

Return to Top

2007

“Asymmetry effects in atomically resolved STM images of Cu(014)-O and W(100)-O surfaces measured with MnNi tips”, S. Murphy, K. Radican, I. V. Shvets, A. N. Chaika, V. N. Semenov, S. S. Nazin, S. I. Bozhko, Phys. Rev. B 76 , 245423 (2007) [abstract]

“Morphology of Ni ultrathin films on Mo (110) and W (100) studied by LEED and STM”, S. Murphy, V. Usov, I. V. Shvets, Surface Sci. 601 (23) 5576 (2007) [abstract]

“EBSD analysis of the growth of (001) magnetite thin films on MgO substrates”, Materials Science and Engineering B – Solid State Materials for Advanced Technology 144 (Issue 1-3), 64 (2007) [abstract]

“Nanowedge island formation on Mo (110)” , I. V. Shvets, S. Murphy, V. Kalinin, Surface Science 601 (15), 3169-3178 (2007) [abstract]

“Electron backscatter diffraction analysis applied to [001] magnetite thin films grown on MgO substrates ”, A. Koblischka-Veneva, M. R. Koblischka, Y. Zhou, S. Murphy, F. Muecklich, U. Hartmann, I. V. Shvets, Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 316 (2): E663-E665 (2007) [abstract]

“Influence of substrate pre-deposition annealing on step edges-induced magnetoresistance in epitaxial magnetite films grown on vicinal MgO (100) substrates”, R. G. S. Sofin, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 316 (2): E969-E972 (2007) [abstract]

“Misorientations in [001] magnetite thin films studied by electron backscatter diffraction and magnetic force microscopy”, A. Koblischka-Veneva, M. R. Koblischka, J D. Wei, Y. Zhou, S. Murphy, F. Muecklich, U. Hartmann, I. V. Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 101 (9): Art. No. 09M507 (2007) [abstract]

“Atomic row doubling in the STM images of Cu(014)-O obtained with MnNi tips ”, A. N. Chaika, V. N. Semenov, S. S. Nazin, S. I. Bozhko, S. Murphy, K. Radican, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. Lett. 98 (20): Art. No. 206101 (2007) [abstract]

“Epitaxial molybdenum oxide grown on Mo (110): LEED, STM, and density functional theory calculations ”, K. Radican, K., N. Berdunov, N., G. Manai, G., I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 75 (15): Art. No. 155434 (2007) [abstract]

Return to top

2006

“Initial nucleation of Au on the (root 2 X root 2) R45 circle reconstructed Fe 3 O 4 (001) surface”, K. Jordan, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 600 (24), 1150-1157 (2006) [abstract]

“Oxide templates for self-assembling arrays of metal nanoclusters”, N. Berdunov, G. Mariotto, K. Balakrishnan, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 600 (21): L287-L290 (2006) [abstract]

“ Observation of antiferromagnetic coupling in epitaxial ferrite films”, I. Knittel, J. Wei, Y. Zhou, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, M. Luysberg, M., U. Hartmann, Phys Rev B 74 (13): Art. No. 132406 (2006) [abstract]

“Anomalous strain relaxation behaviour of Fe 3 O 4 /MgO (100) heteroepitaxial system grown using molecular beam epitaxy”, S. K. Arora, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, M. Luysberg, J. Appl. Phys 100 (7), 073908 (2006) [abstract]

“Crystallographic orientation analyses of magnetite thin films using electron backscatter diffraction (EBSD)”, A. Koblischka-Veneva, M. R. Koblischka, F. Mucklich, S. Murphy, Y, Zhou, I. V. Shvets, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MAGNETICS 42 (10), 2873 (2006) [abstract]

“Nano-magnetic probing on magnetite (110)”, G. Maris, L. Jdira, J. G. H. Hermsen, S. Murphy, G. Manai, I. V. Shvets, S. Speller, IEEE Transactions on Magnetics, 42 (10), 2927 (2006) [abstract]

“Influence of the antiphase domain distribution on the magnetic structure of magnetite thin films”, J. D. Wei, I. Knittel, U. Hartmaan, Y. Zhou, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, F. T. Parker, Appl. Phys. Lett. 89 (12), 122517 (2006) [abstract]

“Scanning tunneling spectroscopy study of the electronic structure of Fe 3 O 4 surfaces” K. Jordan, A. Cazacu, G. Manai, S. F. Ceballos, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 74 (8), 085416 (2006) [abstract]

“Swift heavy ion irradiation-induced modifications in structural, magnetic and electrical transport properties of epitaxial magnetite thin films”, R. Kumar, M. W. Khan, J. P. Srivastava, S. K. Arora, R. G. S. Sofin, R. J. Choudhary, I. V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 100 (3), 033703 (2006) [abstract]

“Planar Hall effect in magnetite (100) films”, X. S. Jin, R. Ramos, Y. Zhou, C. McEvoy, I. V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 99 (8), 08C509 (2006) [abstract]

“The magnetic and magnetoresistance properties of ultrathin magnetite films grown on MgO substrate”, Y. Zhou, C. McEvoy, R. Ramos, I. V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 99 (8), 08J111 (2006) [abstract]

“Self-assembled Fe nanodots on Ge (001)”, K. Jordan, I. V. Shvets, Appl. Phys. Lett. 88 (19), 193111 (2006) [abstract]

“Epitaxial growth of Cr ultrathin films on vicinal and low index Mo(110) surfaces”, A. Cazacu, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, Japanese Journal of Applied Physics Part 1-Regular Papers Brief Communications & Review Papers 45 (3b), 2212 (2006) [abstract]

“Towards spin-polarized scanning tunneling microscopy on magnetite (110)”, G. Maris, L. Jdira, J. G. H. Hermsen, S. Murphy, G. Manai, I. V. Shvets, S. Speller, Japanese Journal of Applied Physics Part 1-Regular Papers Brief Communications & Review Papers 45 (3B), 2225 (2006) [abstract]

“Epitaxial growth of ultrathin Cr films on Mo (110) at elevated temperature”, A. Cazacu, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 73 (4), 045413 (2006) [abstract]

Return to top

2005

“Self-assembly of iron nanoclusters on the Fe 3 O 4 (111) superstructure surface”, N. Berdunov, G. Mariotto, S. Murphy, K. Balakrishnan, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B, 71 , 113406 (2005) [abstract]

“Spin-polarized electron tunneling across magnetic dielectric ”, I. V. Shvets, A.N. Grigorenko, K.S. Novoselov, D. J. Mapps, Appl. Phys. Lett., 86, 212501 (2005) [abstract]

“Antiphase boundaries induced exchange coupling in epitaxial Fe 3 O 4 thin films”, S.K. Arora, R.G.S. Sofin, A. Nolan, I.V. Shvets, J. Mag. Mag. Mater., 286 , 463-467 (2005) [abstract]

“Study of ferromagnetic-paramagnetic phase transition in two-dimensional Fe/Mo(110) epitaxial films”, V. Usov, S. Murphy, I.V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 290-291 , 764 (2005) [abstract]

“Epitaxial growth and magnetic properties of Fe nanowedge islands on Mo (110)”, V. Usov, S. Murphy, I.V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 286 , 18 (2005) [abstract]

“Developments in surface magneto-optical Kerr effect setup for UHV analysis of magnetic properties of ultrathin films”, V. Usov, S. Murphy, L. Seravalli, I.V. Shvets, Rev. Sci. Inst., 76, 046102 (2005) [abstract]

“Study of magnetoresistance of epitaxial magnetite films grown on vicinal MgO (100) substrates”, R. G. S. Sofin, Arora S. K., Shvets I. V., J. Appl. Phys., 97, 10D315 (2005) [abstract]

“Influence of antiphase boundary density on the conduction noise properties of epitaxial magnetite thin films”, S. K. Arora, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, R. Kumar, M. W. Khan, J. P. Srivastava, J. Appl. Phys., 97, 10C310 (2005) [abstract]

“Exposition of semiconducting and ferromagnetic properties of pulsed-laser-deposited thin films of LaFe1-xNixO3 (x=0.3, 0.4, and 0.5)”, R. J. Choudhary, R. Kumar, M. W. Khan, J. P. Srivastava, S. I. Patil, S. K. Arora, I. V. Shvets, Appl. Phys. Lett., 87 , 132104 (2005) [abstract]

“Nanoscale pattern formation of the Fe 3 O 4 (111) surface”, S. Murphy, A. Cazacu, N. Berdunov, I.V. Shvets, Y. M. Mukovskii. , J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 290-291 , 201 (2005) [abstract]

“Influence of reducing thermo-chemical treatment on magnetic properties of magnetite Fe 3 O 4 (100) epitaxial films”, Y. Zhou, Ciaran McEvoy and I. V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 290-291, 1033-1036 (2005) [abstract]

“Effect of thermo-chemical treatment on magnetic and spin-transport properties of epitaxial Fe 3 O 4 (100)/MgO films”, Y. Zhou, Xuesong Jin, I. V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 286, 346-350 (2005) [abstract]

“Magnetoresistance enhancement in epitaxial magnetite films grown on vicinal substrates”, S. K. Arora, R. G. S. Sofin, I. V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B, 72, 134404 (2005) [abstract]

“Studies of heteroepitaxial growth of Fe/MgO/Fe3O4 multilayer on MgO (100) substrates for fabrication of magnetic tunnel junctions”, XS. Jin, Ciaran McEvoy, I. V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 286, 128 (2005) [abstract]

“Anisotropic transport behavour in ultrathin epitaxial Fe films on vicinal oxide substrates”, XS. Jin, C. McEvoy, I. V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys., 97, 10M103 (2005) [abstract]

“Atomic scale spin-dependent STM on magnetite using antiferromagnetic STM tips”, S. Murphy, S. F. Ceballos, G. Mariotto, N. Berdunov, K. Jordan, I. V. Shvets, Y. M. Mukovskii, Microscopy Research and Technique, 66 , 85 (2005) [abstract]

“Spin polarized STM imaging of the Fe 3 O 4 (001) surface using antiferromagnetic tips”, K. Jordan, G. Mariotto, S. F. Ceballos, S. Murphy, I. V. Shvets, J. Magn. Magn. Mater., 290 , 1029 (2005) [abstract]

“Long-range charge order on the Fe 3 O 4 (001) surface”, I. V. Shvets, G. Mariotto, K. Jordan, N. Berdunov, R. Kantor, S. Murphy, Phys. Rev. B, 70 , 155406 (2004).

"Oxygen-induced p(3x1) reconstruction of the W(100) surface", S. Murphy, G. Manai, I.V. Shvets, Surface Science 579, 65-72 (2005).

Return to top

2004

"Strain relaxation studies of the Fe3O4/MgO heteroepitaxial system grown by magnetron sputtering", K. Balakrishnan, S.K. Arora and I.V. Shvets, J. Phys. Condensed Matter 16 (2004) 5387.[abstract]

"Influence of Ca and K on the reconstruction of the Fe3O4 (001) surface", G. Mariotto, S. Murphy, N. Berdunov, S.F. Ceballos and I.V. Shvets, Surf. Sci. 564 (2004) 79-86.[abstract]

"Atomically resolved spin-dependent tunneling on the oxygen-terminated Fe3O4 (111)", N. Berdunov, S. Murphy, G. Mariotto and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. Lett. 93 (2004) 057201. [abstract]

"Study of in-plane magnetic anisotropy of ultrathin epitaxial Fe fillms grown on vicinal Mo (110) surface", V. Usov, S. Murphy and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 95 (2004) 7312-7314. [abstract]

"Kinetics of phase transition of low index surfaces of magnetite", Y. Zhou, X. Jin and I.V.Shvets, J. Phys. Condensed Matter 16 (2004) 1-12. [abstract]

"Spin-polarized tunneling effects observed on the oxygen-terminated Fe3O4 (111) surface", N. Berdunov, S. Murphy, G. Mariotto and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 95 (2004) 6891-6893. [abstract]

"Enhancement of the magnetization saturation in magnetite (100) epitaxial fillms by thermo-chemical treatment", Y. Zhou, X. Jin and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys 95 (2004) 7357-7359.[abstract]

"Room temperature study of a strain-induced electronic superstructure on a magnetite (111) surface", N. Berdunov, S. Murphy, G. Mariotto and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 70 (2004) 085404.[abstract]

"Self-assembled alkali and alkaline earth metal nanopatterns on the Fe3O4 (001) surface", G. Mariotto, S.F. Ceballos, S. Murphy, N. Berdunov, C. Seoighe and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 70 (2004) 035417. [abstract]

"Study of polarization dependent energy coupling between near-field optical probe and mesoscopic metal structure", A. Gademann, I.V. Shvets and C. Durkan, J. Appl. Phys. 95 (2004) 3988-3993.[abstract]

"An atomic scale STM study of the Fe3O4 (001) surface", S.F. Ceballos, G. Mariotto, K. Jordan, S. Murphy, C. Seoighe, I.V. Shvets, Surf. Sci. 548 (2004) 106-116. [abstract]

Return to top

2003

"Layer-dependent reactivity in the Fe/Mo (110) epitaxial ultrathin film system", S. Murphy, G. Mariotto, N. Berdunov and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 68 (2003) 165419.[abstract]

"Formation of the strain-induced electronic superstructure on the magnetite (111) surface", I.V. Shvets, N. Berdunov, G. Mariotto and S. Murphy, Europhys. Lett. 63 (2003) 867-873. [abstract]

"Optical impedance matching with scanning near-field optical microscopy", A. Gademann, C. Durkan and I.V. Shvets, J. Phys. D 36 (2003) 2193-2197. [abstract]

"Irreversible nanoscale morphology transformation of an Fe film on Mo (110) induced by a magnetic STM tip", S. Murphy, J. Osing and I.V. Shvets, Surf. Sci. 547 (2003) 139-148. [abstract]

"Influence of ferromagnetic substrate on the magnetoresistance of Cr film across a nonmagnetic insulating layer", X. Jin and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 94 (2003) 5035-5040. [abstract]

"Scanning tunneling microscopy studies of the Fe3O4 (001) surface using antiferromagnetic probes", G. Mariotto, S.F. Ceballos, S. Murphy and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 93 (2003) 7142. [abstract]

"Method of increasing spatial resolution of the scanning near-field microwave microscopy", R. Kantor and I.V. Shvets, J. Appl. Phys. 93 (2003) 4979-4985. [abstract]

"Non-contact high resolution microwave scanning measurement technology", N. Berger, J-C. Giraudon, T. Sulzbach, R. Kantor, I.V. Shvets and F.M. Landstorfer, Electronic Letters 39 (2003) 1047-1048.

"Measurement of electric field intensities using scanning near-field microwave microscopy", R. Kantor and I.V. Shvets, IEEE Trans. Microwave Theory and Techniques 51 (2003) 2228-2234.

"Fabrication of magnetic STM probes and their application to studies of the Fe3O4 (001) surface", S.F. Ceballos, G. Mariotto, S. Murphy and I.V. Shvets, Surf. Sci. 523 (2003) 131-140. [abstract]

Return to top

2002

"Charge ordering on the surface of Fe3O4 (001)", G. Mariotto, S.Murphy and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 66 (2002) 245426. [abstract]

"Morphology and strain-induced defect structure of ultrathin epitaxial Fe films on Mo (110)", S. Murphy, D. Mac Mathna, G. Mariotto and I.V. Shvets, Phys. Rev. B 66 (2002) 195417. [abstract]

Return to top

2000

"Enhanced gas-particle adsorption on strained pseudomorphic Fe films on Mo(110)", J. Osing, S. Murphy, and I. V. Shvets,Surface Science 454 (2000) 280. [abstract]

Return to top

1999

"NANOJET: Nanostructuring via a downstream plasmajet", J. Voigt, B. Reinker, I. W. Rangelow, G. Mariotto, I. V. Shvets, P. Guethner, and H. Loschner, Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B 17 2764. [abstract]

"Studies of surface structures on single crystalline magnetite (100)", C. Seoighe, J. Naumann, and I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 440 116. [abstract]

"Dynamic behavior of a piezowalker, inertial and frictional configurations", G. Mariotto, M. D'Angelo, and I. V. Shvets, Review of Scientific Instruments 70 (1999) 3651. [abstract]

"A scanning tunneling microscopy study on the growth of iron on a vicinal Mo (110) surface", J. Osing, and I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 435 (1999) 440. [abstract]

"Atomically resolved p(3 x 1) reconstruction on the W (100) surface imaged with magnetic tips", S. Murphy, J. Osing, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 199 (1999) 686. [abstract]

"On the growth of ultrathin Fe-films on Mo (110)", J. Osing, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials 199 (1999) 734. [abstract]

"Fabrication of submicron-scale manganese-nickel tips for spin-polarized STM studies", S. Murphy, J. Osing, abd I. V. Shvets, Applied Surface Science 144-145 (1999) 497. [abstract]

"Method for increasing sensitivity of shear-force distance control for scanning near-field microscopy", R. Kantor, M. Lesnak, N. Berdunov, and I. V. Shvets, Applied Surface Science 144-145 (1999) 510. [abstract]

"Study of the dynamic behaviour of a piezo-walker", G. Mariotto, M. D'Angelo, J. Kresnin, and I. V. Shvets, Applied Surface Science 144-145 (1999) 530. [abstract]

Return to top

1998

"Bulk defects in graphite observed with a scanning tunnelling microscope", J. Osing, and I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 417 (1998) 145. [abstract]

"Polarization effects in reflection-mode scanning near-field optical microscopy", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 83 (1998) 1837. [abstract]

"Reflection-mode scanning near-field optical microscopy: Influence of sample type, tip shape, and polarization of light", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 83 (1998) 1171. [abstract]

Return to top

1997

"Method for increasing shear-force detection sensitivity with uncoated fiber tips", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, Applied Optics 36 (1997) 8173. [abstract]

"Morphology of sputtering damage on Cu (111) studied by scanning tunneling microscopy", J. Naumann, J. Osing, A. J. Quinn, and I. V. Shvets, Surface Science 388 (1997) 212. [abstract]

"Kerr-effect based magneto-optic imaging with sub-100 nm resolution", C. Durkan, C. Lodder, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 81 (1997) 5019. [abstract]

"Observation of magnetic domains using a reflection-mode scanning near-field optical microscope", C. Durkan, I. V. Shvets, J. C. Lodder, Applied Physics Letters 70 (1997) 1323. [abstract]

Return to top

1996

"Investigation of the physical mechanisms of shear-force imaging", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 80 (1996) 5659. [abstract]

"Study of shear force as a distance regulation mechanism for scanning near-field optical microscopy", C. Durkan, and I. V Shvets, Journal of Applied Physics 79 (1996) 1219. [abstract]

"An aperture-type reflection mode SNOM", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, "Optics at the Nanometer Scale" 257-261, eds. M. Nieto-Vesperinas and N. Garcia, NATO ASI Series E 319, Kluwer, Dortrecht, 1996

Return to top

1995

"40nm resolution in reflection-mode SNOM with lambda=685 nm", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, Ultramicroscopy 61 (1995) 227. [abstract]

"Reflection-mode SNOM", C. Durkan, and I. V. Shvets, "Photons and Local Probes" 145-150, eds. O. Marti and R. Möller, NATO ASI Series E 300, Kluwer, Dortrecht, 1995

Return to top

1994

"Wigner glass on magnetite (001) surface observed by scanning tunneling microscopy with a ferromagnetic tip", R. Wiesendanger, I. V. Shvets, and J. M. D. Coey, Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology B 12 (1994) 2118. [abstract]

Return to top

1993

"Charge freezing and surface anisotropy on magnetite (100)", J. M. D. Coey, I. V. Shvets, R. Wiesendanger, and H. J. Guntherodt, Journal of Applied Physics 73 (1993) 6742. [abstract]

"Ferromagnetic films of MnSb prepared by laser ablation deposition", I. V. Shvets, O. Cugat, J. Lunney, and J. M. D. Coey, Journal of Applied Physics 73 (1993) 6845. [abstract]

Return to top

1992

"Recent advances in spin-polarized scanning tunneling microscopy", R. Wiesendanger, I. V. Shvets, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, J. M. D. Coey, Ultramicroscopy 42 (1992) 338. [abstract]

"Scanning tunneling microscopy study of the degree of dimer asymmetry on the Si (001)-(2x1) surface", R. Wiesendanger, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, I. V. Shvets, and J. M. D. Coey, Surface Science 274(1992) 93. [abstract]

"Evidence for selective imaging of different magnetic ions on the atomic scale by using a scanning tunneling microscope with a ferromagnetic probe tip", R. Wiesendanger, I. V. Shvets, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, J. M. D. Coey Europhysics Letters 19 (1992) 141.

"Progress towards spin-polarised scanning tunneling microscopy", I. V. Shvets, R. Wiesendanger, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, and J. M. D. Coey, Journal of Applied Physics 71 (1992) 5489. [abstract]

"Topographic and mgnetic-sensitive scanning tunneling microscope study of magnetite", R. Wiesendanger, I. V. Shvets, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, J. M. D. Coey, and S. Graser, Science 255 (1992) 583.

"Magnetic imaging at the atomic level", R. Wiesendanger, I. V. Shvets, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, H. J. Guntherodt, and J. M. D. Coey, Zeitschrift fuer Physik B-Condensed Matter 86 (1992).

Return to top

1991

"Recent advances in scanning tunneling microscopy involving magnetic probes and samples", R. Wiesendanger, D. Burgler, G. Tarrach, T. Schaub, U. Hartmann, H. J. Guntherodt, I. V. Shvets, J. M. D. Coey, Applied Physics A-Materials Science and Processing 53 (1991) 349.

Return to top


Last updated 3 January 2013 by Applied Physics Research Group (Email).