Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

The Rooney Prize for Literature


The Rooney Prize for Irish Literature is awarded annually to an emerging Irish writer under forty years of age, through the generosity of Dr Daniel Rooney, of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Pittsburgh, USA and of his wife Patricia. (Dr Rooney recently served as Ambassador of the United States of America to Ireland).

The prize was established in 1976 and until 2007 it was administered by Mr Jim Sherwin. Since 2007 the prize has been administered in the Oscar Wilde Centre for Irish Writing of the School of English.

The prize it should be noted is awarded for a body of work that the selection committee considers shows exceptional promise. A single exceptional work may warrant an award but the committee is keen to consider writers who have begun to establish an oeuvre.

Publishers who may wish to bring the committee's attention to a writer or to writers who they think should be considered for the prize, may seek further details of how they may do this from Ms Lilian Foley at this address (though the committee in its deliberations is not restricted to such suggestions).

The selection committee for the Rooney Prize comprises: Gerald Dawe, poet (Professor of English TCD and Director of the Oscar Wilde Centre for Irish Writing), Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin, poet, critic and editor (Fellow Emeritus, TCD), Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, novelist and dramatist (Lecturer in Creative Writing, UCD), Carlo Gébler, novelist and playwright, Riana O'Dwyer, critic (Senior Lecturer in English, National University of Ireland at Galway) and Jonathan Williams (Literary Agent and Editor).

Since 1976 the following Irish writers have been recipients of this prize.

1976 Heno Magee
1977 Desmond Hogan
1978 Peter Sheridan
1979 Kate Cruise O'Brien
1980 Bernard Farrell
1981 Neil Jordan
1982 Medbh McGuckian
1983 Dorothy Nelson
1984 Ronan Sheehan
1985 Frank McGuinness
1986 Paul Mercier
1987 Deirdre Madden
1988 Glenn Patterson
1989 Robert McLiam Wilson
1990 Mary Dorcey
1991 Anne Enright
1992 Hugo Hamilton
1993 Gerard Fanning
1994 Colum McCann
1995 Philip MacCann
1996 Mike McCormack
1997 Anne Haverty
1998 David Wheatley
1999 Mark O'Rowe
2000 Claire Keegan
2001 Keith Ridgyway
2002 Caítriona O' Reilly
2003 Eugene O'Brien
2004 Claire Kilroy
2005 Nick Laird
2006 Philip Ó Ceallaigh
2007 Kevin Barry
2008 Leontia Flynn
2009 Kevin Power
2010 Leanne O'Sullivan
2011 Lucy Caldwell
2012 Nancy Harris
2013 Ciarán Collins
2014 Colin Barrett

Last updated 26 August 2015 by