In 2012 Trinity College is celebrating the tercentenary of one of Trinity and Ireland’s iconic buildings, the Old Library.
The foundation stone for the Old Library building in Trinity College was laid on 12 May 1712 (Julian Calendar). In the three hundred years since, the building itself has become internationally recognised as an outstanding example of library design and is greatly admired for the grace and discipline in the organisation of recorded thought. As the sole College library for over 200 years, it was the place of study for many of Trinity’s most famous alumni. Over 500000 visitors come to enjoy the Library every year, to see the Book of Kells Exhibition and to experience the Long Room.
The Old Library Tercentenary will be marked by a series of events, including the Exhibition ‘A great many choice books: 300 years of the Old Library’ on the history of the Old Library and its collections to be opened by President Higgins, a library conference ‘Building collections’ in June, the publication of a book on the Library and its collections, celebrity readings from the Library’s collection of children’s books and other events celebrating the role of the building in Dublin.
The Library is marking this signal year by launching the ‘Patrons of the Library’ initiative to provide support for the acquisition and care of its collections, and to create a state-of-the art research facility for scholars to work on its collections.