Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

LL.M. Scholarship Opportunities


Hyman Tarlo Scholarship 2016/17
Kader Asmal Fellowship 2016/17
Government of Ireland International Scholarships

2015-16 LLM Scholarship Recipients

LL.M Scholarship Recipients 2015/16

(Joshua Hovsha (Kader Asmal Fellowship), Samuel Tyrer (Hyman Tarlo Scholarship), Alexander Heinze (Law School Alumni Scholarship) and Nubia Martins Domingues (Government of Ireland Scholarship (Brazil))


Hyman Tarlo Scholarship 2016/17

The Law School of Trinity College Dublin is pleased to announce the Hyman Tarlo Scholarship in Law for 2016/17. This scholarship is generously sponsored by Mrs Ruth Tarlo in memory of her late husband.

Professor Hyman Tarlo was a law student in Trinity College during the 1940s. He was elected a scholar of the College, the highest honour bestowed on undergraduate students, and was also Auditor of the student Law Society. He practised as a solicitor in Ireland for several years before moving with his wife, also a Trinity graduate, to Australia to take up a position as Senior Lecturer at the Law School in Canberra, then associated with Melbourne University before becoming part of the Australian National University. Professor Tarlo then was a scholar at the University of Queensland from 1966 until his retirement in 1986. His legal specialties were Land Law, Equity and Family Law, and he was a pioneer in the teaching of Environmental Law. He was an innovative Dean of UQ Law School, reforming the way in which legal education was delivered.
This scholarship is a fitting tribute to Professor Tarlo, both rewarding legal excellence and facilitating students to travel between Australia and Ireland.

The Scholarship covers full LL.M Non-EU tuition fees in academic year 2016/17, payable directly by the Law School to Student Finance, and a stipend of AUS$10,000.
Applications are assessed competitively with the sole criteria for the granting of the scholarship being the proven academic merit of the candidate. The decision as to the recipient of the scholarship (which is made at school level) is at the exclusive discretion of the School of Law in Trinity College Dublin.


The Hyman Tarlo scholarship is open to all Australian nationals who will, by September 2016, have attained an undergraduate or graduate law degree in an Australian university. Applicants can apply to any of the four prestigious taught Masters in Law (LL.M) programmes, for admission in September 2016.
It is offered subject to the following conditions:

  1. The holder must engage in full-time study and must register for one LL.M degree at the Law School in academic year 2016/17;
  2. The holder is required to engage in relevant academic activities as determined by the LL.M Course Director;
  3. The holder must not be a simultaneous holder of other grants or funding, Government of Ireland or other awards (or any other awards with a similar monetary value).

How do I apply?

  1. Applicants must complete the LL.M. application process by 31st May 2016, providing all required documentation (See LL.M Admissions for further information).
  2. Applicants must hold an Unconditional offer by 1st July 2016. In exceptional cases, the Law School reserves the right to extend this deadline in circumstances where the successful candidate has not received his or her final degree result from the awarding institution by this deadline and his or her offer to study on the LLM programme is conditional on such result being available.

For further information, please contact

Kader Asmal


Kader Asmal Fellowship 2016/17

The Law School of Trinity College Dublin is pleased to announce the Kader Asmal Fellowship for 2016/17. This fellowship applies to Human Rights Law, specifically the LL.M (International and Comparative Law)at the School of Law, Trinity College Dublin, with candidates to be selected by the Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution (CASAC). Canon Collins Trust, on behalf of the Government of Ireland, invites applications for the Kader Asmal Fellowship Programme via

Professor Kader Asmal was a lecturer in the School of Law at Trinity College Dublin from 1963 until 1990 and served as Dean of the Faculty of Arts (Humanities) between 1980 and 1986. He was a member of the first democratically elected government of South Africa having previously been a leader of the Irish Anti-Apartheid Movement. Dr Asmal combined his academic career with a commitment to social and political reform and this has influenced the way many of the staff at the Law School teach law, with one eye on how legal developments affect contemporary political and social issues.

The Kader Asmal Fellowship will cover, amongst other costs, tuition fees, economy travel to and from your country of residence to Ireland, a monthly personal living allowance (stipend).

For full eligibility criteria please see


To apply for this scholarship through the Canon Collins Trust you must:

  1. Be a national of South Africa or
  2. Be a national of Zimbabwe in possession of a South African permanent resident permit;
  3. Have achieved the necessary standard to be accepted onto a postgraduate course in an institute of higher education in Ireland;
  4. Be applying for a full-time one-year master’s degree in one of the eligible courses at an approved Irish university, namely the LL.M (International and Comparative Law Degree) at Trinity College Dublin.

How do I apply?

Full details are available at

The scholarship will open for applications on Monday 9 November 2015 and the closing date for applications is Monday 22 February 2016.

Government of Ireland International Scholarships

In 2015/16, Trinity College Dublin was awarded three Government of Ireland Scholarships for one-year taught masters students as detailed below:

  • Brazil - One Scholarship
  • China - One Scholarship
  • India - One Scholarship

Information on availability of GOI scholarships 2016/17 will be announced in due course at the "Study at Trinity" website.

Please note that the above scholarships are offered on a College-wide basis and are not specific to the School of Law.

Back to top

This page was last updated by Kelley McCabe

Last updated 10 February 2016 School of Law (Email).