Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Mechanical Engineering graduate Kate Gillen awarded the Inaugural Professor John Fitzpatrick Memorial Medal

6th November, 2014

Pictured is Professor Darina Murray (Head of Mechanical Engineering), Daniel Fitzpatrick (son of the late Professor Fitzpatrick), Dr Patrick Prendergast (Provost), Ms Kate Gillen (Professor John Fitzpatrick Medal and Prize winner, 2014), Ms Katy Fitzpatrick (daughter of the late Professor Fitzpatrick) and Assistant Professor Ciaran Simms (Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning) at the presentation of the medal in Trinity College Dublin on Tuesday, 4th November, 2014

The Inaugural Professor John Fitzpatrick Medal has been awarded to Kate Gillen, a 2014 MAI Mechanical Engineering graduate, at an event held in Trinity College on 4th November, 2014. This prize was established in 2013 by a bequest from the Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering in memory of the late Professor John Fitzpatrick, former Head of the School of Engineering and Chair of Mechanical Engineering. The prize is awarded annually to the best student in the MAI degree as determined by the School following publication of the MAI examination results.

Professor John Fitzpatrick, FTCD, MRIA was Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Trinity from 1994-2012. He was originally appointed as lecturer in 1980 in a newly formed department. In this time he established a world class reputation for teaching and research in engineering in Trinity. John’s research was focussed on flow induced vibrations and attendant noise. This work dated back to his PhD studies in Queen’s University Belfast where he examined flow dynamics in heat exchanger arrays. His interest in the acoustics of these structures led to inquiring, life-long studies of the fundamental mechanisms of noise generation from turbulence and its application to jet engines

The Provost of Trinity, Dr Patrick Prendergast launched the Professor John Fitzpatrick Memorial Medal at the inaugural lecture held on 25th February, 2014. The medal was designed by Professor David Taylor and Mr Gerard Byrne, School of Engineering, both colleagues of John’s and will be awarded annually to the best Engineering student in the newly established 5-year MAI programme.


Back to the news