Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Sinéad Cáit Ní Riada wins the Maurice F. FitzGerald Prize 2012

November 2 2012

The Maurice F. FitzGerald Prize was instituted in 1961 by a bequest from Anna Maria FitzGerald and is awarded annually, where sufficient merit is shown, on the nomination of Trustees based on the results at the final examination for the degree of B.A.I., Trinity College Dublin. Candidates must have achieved distinction during the engineering course and be making satisfactory progression of their knowledge in the profession of engineer.

Sinéad is a scholar of TCD, and was awarded a gold medal in Electronic Engineering as well as a Distinction in her Masters of Engineering.   She obtained the highest overall average in her class at the annual examinations and received the David Clark Memorial Prize. Within her Masters studies Sinead participated in the Unitech programme, completing an academic exchange at ETH Zurich and an industrial internship with Infineon in Munich. In July 2012 she joined the Graduate Programme of Analog Devices BV as she wanted to further her engineering knowledge through hands-on learning in a working environment. For the past 4 months she has been working within Research and Development at ADBV as a designer of silicon integrated circuits.  She works closely with her supervisor, Paudie Kirby, on the design, simulation and verification of analogue circuits. To date, she has worked on the development of two products.  In the future, Sinéad intends on furthering her knowledge of analogue circuit design through the attendance of conferences, innovation forums and design reviews. She will continue to work with her supervisor and endeavour to learn as much as possible from the knowledgeable and highly experienced engineers within Analog Devices and also hopes to participate in formal, externally provided training.  Her goal for the coming years is to present a design of her own at one of Analog Devices’s annual conferences.

The Trustees for this prize include the Provost, Dr. Patrick Prendergast, Professor Margaret O’Mahony (Head of the School of Engineering), Professor John Byrne (former Dean of the Faculty and Head of Computer Science), Associate Professor Dermot O’Dwyer (Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning – School of Engineering) and Mr Finbar Callanan (former Director General of Engineers Ireland).

FitzGerald Prize Winner

Pictured is the winner of the Maurice F FitzGerald Prize 2012, Sinéad Cáit Ní Riada (Electronic Engineering) with Trustees Mr Finbar Callanan and Associate Professor Dermot O’Dwyer (Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning - School of Engineering) at an award ceremony held in the Museum Building, Trinity College Dublin on Friday, 2nd November, 2012.



Back to the news