Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

SER Logo

About the Student Economic Review

The Student Economic Review is an undergraduate journal, published annually by the students of Trinity College Dublin. The Review prides itself in the encouragement and promotion of undergraduate research within the field of economics. Every year since its inception in 1987, the SER has featured many exceptional essays. Those from 1994 are accessible on-line.

The SER committee is chosen from the third-year economics undergraduates by the Economics Department. These students are responsible for all matters relevant to the Review; editing, production, finance, sponsorship, web-design and event organisation. Typically the Committee hold a series of debates and workshops throughout the year, in addition to the Review itself. This year boasts debating links with both Cambridge and Harvard.

The launch of the Student Economic Review 2014 will take place in the GMB on the 25th March 2014. One of the highlights of the launch every year is the guest speaker. Speakers have come from all walks of life from academics to the business world.




Richard Lipsey

Simon Fraser University

1990 (Vol. IV)

Charles Goodhart

London School of Economics

1991 (Vol. V)

Peter Sinclair

Brasenose College, Oxford

1992 (Vol. VI)

David Greenway

Nottingham University

1993 (Vol. VII)

Hamish McRae

The Independent, London

1994 (Vol. VIII)

John Sutton

London School of Economics

1995 (Vol. IX)

John Martin


1996 (Vol. X)

Alan Tait


1997 (Vol. XI)

David O’Sullivan

European Commission

1998 (Vol. XII)

Paula Donovan

World Bank

1999 (Vol. XIII)

Dermot McCarthy

Department of An Taoiseach

2000 (Vol. XIV)

Donal Donovan


2001 (Vol. XV)

Margaret Doyle

The Economist

2002 (Vol. XVI)

Tom Healy

Irish Stock Exchange

2003 (Vol. XVII)

Gerry Foley


2004 (Vol. XVIII)

John Fingleton

Competition Authority

2005 (Vol. XIX)

Marius Brülhart

HEC University of Lausanne

2006 (Vol. XX)

Cliff Taylor

Sunday Business Post

2007 (Vol. XXI)

Alan Barrett


2008 (Vol. XXII)

Patricia Callan

Small Firms Association

2009 (Vol. XXIII)

Jane Williams


2010 (Vol. XXIV)

Tom O’Mahony

Department of Transport

2011 (Vol. XXV)

Kyran McStay

Key Capital Limited

2012 (Vol. XXVI)

Alan Gray

Indecon Economic Consulting Group

2013 (Vol. XXVII)

Anke Heydenreich

Attestor Capital LLP

2014 (Vol. XXVIII)