Skip Trinity Banner Navigation

Skip to main content »

Trinity College Dublin

Skip Main Navigation
School of Natural Sciences
Turloughs Projects
Secondary Navigation

Project Sites

304 turloughs are listed in the Geological Survey Ireland Karst Database. Hydrological and ecological information, of varying forms and standards, is available for 90 of these sites. Hydrology is the key factor driving ecological diversity in most wetlands and site selection was driven by the requirement for turloughs representative of the full range of turlough hydrological signatures, according to best available knowledge. Twenty two turloughs were selected for study from the subset of 90 sites based on hydrological criteria and the requirement for a broad but practical geographical distribution (See Map below). Turloughs are generally state or privately owned commonage areas used by numerous landowners. Every effort was made to contact landowners related to suitable access points. Landowner consultation is vital for conducting within-site management assessments and efforts are ongoing to contact as many associated landowners as possible related to each site.

Map of Turlough Study Sites

Site Number Site Name Site Number Site Name
1 Lough Aleenaun 12 Tullaghnafrankagh
2 Knockaunroe 13 Ballindereen
3 Lough Gealain 14 Ardkill
4 Turloughmore 15 Kilglassan
5 Termon 16 Skealoghan
6 Roo West 17 Coolcam
7 Garryland 18 Croaghill
8 Caherglassaun 19 Lisduff
9 Lough Coy 20 Rathnalulleagh
10 Blackrock 21 Carrowreagh
11 Caranavoodaun 22 Brierfield


Last updated: Nov 22 2009.